We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel & Beach on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Hotel & Beach on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our second annual trip to St. Croix and this year was even better than the last. Last year we stayed at The Buccaneer which was very nice but, we wanted to be able to make our own meals and we wanted to be on the West End of the Island for the amazing beaches. Cottages definitely did not disappoint!. We stayed in Cowry Shell which is actually promoted as being 40 steps from the beach. To be honest, I don't think the distance matters as every cottage is essentially "on the beach". Don't let this be a concern when booking your room. It is a smaller cottage but, the kitchen is fully equppped with everything that you need and the beds and bathroom are very comfortable and clean. We met some amazing people and enjoyed lounging on the beach in addition to taking a daily bike ride with the free bikes provided by the hotel. The restaurant located next door had good drinks and food and offered amazing views of the island. We plan to return again next year and will definitely be staying at The Cottages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    39
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
108
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great beach, accommodating staff. Loved being able to cook in the room. Frederiksted not very inviting but the cottages were a great sanctuary. The have a bottle of Rum and cokes in your room when you arrive. Extras at no charge like snorkel gear, kayak and suntan lotion. Staff friendly and I felt secure in the accomodations

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Cottages by the Sea. 2 years ago we went as a group of 4. This time we went as a group of 12 and everyone loved it! We have raved about Cottages for 2 years and this time brought my sister and her two kids ages 8 & 10 along with several other friends. A grand time was had by all!

We stayed in Cruzan, Chocolate, Coconut and Calabash and everyone loved their room. You are 20-30 steps from the beach from your front door. You can't ask for a better spot! The water here is very calm, which makes for great snorkeling and sea glass hunting :-) If we needed to go back to the room to get something or sit on the porch and enjoy another cup of coffee, we never had to worry about the kids being in the water alone, as we were close enough to see them playing in the calm waters.

There was never more than 15 people on the beach at any given time -- it's just that perfect! The rooms are quaint and come equipped with anything you need to enjoy your stay. We used the bbq grills under the gazebo a few nights and prepared the accompanying side dishes in the room and all dined together on the tables/chairs provided in the gazebo. It was fabulous!

They provide bikes, kayaks, a library full of books, beach toys, snorkel gear, etc for their guests at no charge. Their staff (hi Carmen!) is very accommodating and friendly and make you feel like family!

This place is truly one of my favorite places to spend my time. Thank you, Paul for another great experience!! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Cruzan has a fabulous porch! Our favorite spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were looking or something calm, quiet, and casual. No loud parties, no dressing up required, just relaxation. The cottages were exactly it! We stayed three nights in Carol's Rest and the cottage was perfectly appointed with everything we needed.

-All kitchen stuff provided.
-Beach towels in abundance.
-Plenty of linens and great housekeeping.

Paul was kind enough to check us in and point us towards a grocery store. The rest was up to us to do as little or as much as we liked. The property has a great beach with plenty of lounge chairs, you can also grab a board game or a book from the community area. Parking was easy. The keyless entry (you choose your own code) to the doors was a perfect touch as we never had to do the "who has the room key" routine. Frederiksted was QUIET and calm and the whole trip was so great I'm sad it wasn't longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our best vacation ever! Everyone was so nice and friendly! Our cottage Carol's Rest was so beautiful and comfortable! We renewed our 20+ marriage vow's barefoot on the beach at sunset our last night there and thank you, Paul for such a wonderful ceremony exchanging and renewing our vow's! Met some wonderful folks and we loved Beach Side Cafe and the way of life there so as soon as our little farm is sold we're moving to St Croix! Went condo shopping while there and look forward to many more sunsets! ~ Diana & George Saba in Tennessee

Room Tip: Absolutely Carol's Rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here from May 28, 2014 to June 9, 2014 and loved it! I stayed in Coral. It had a cute kitchen and a little bathroom. I stayed here with three of my classmates and the staff was very accommodating by finding four single beds for all of us.The beds were so comfortable! Our housekeeper, Reina, was very friendly and did a wonderful job cleaning our room. The staff provides a bucket on your cottage patio to rinse off your feet. The beach is right in front of the cottage. You couldn't ask for a nicer view. The cottages have air conditioning and free wifi. They provide you with bath towels and beach towels everyday with the exception of Wednesdays and Sundays. You can spend your time snorkeling, looking for sea glass or just relaxing on the beach.

The cottages are very homey and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying at Cottages by the Sea!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Based on a friend’s recommendation we chose to dive with N2 the Blue and through their website found Cottages by the Sea. What a perfect little place to spend a week! They are conveniently located about a mile from downtown Frederiksted. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a full kitchen, plenty of storage, air conditioning, and free wifi. They are located on a beautiful sandy beach facing west so each evening we were blessed with a glorious sunset.

We did not rent a car as all we planned to do was dive. Cottages has bikes available for guests to use – so we pedaled into town each morning. It was fun and added an element of charm to our visit. There is a restaurant (Beachside Café) located next door to the property so between the kitchen and the restaurant, we really did not need a car on this trip.

If you are looking for a quiet & safe place to stay in Frederiksted, look no further. Cottages by the Sea has everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.