We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd stay at Cottages...it just gets better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 2nd stay at Cottages...it just gets better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our 2nd stay at Cottages by the Sea. 2 years ago we went as a group of 4. This time we went as a group of 12 and everyone loved it! We have raved about Cottages for 2 years and this time brought my sister and her two kids ages 8 & 10 along with several other friends. A grand time was had by all!

We stayed in Cruzan, Chocolate, Coconut and Calabash and everyone loved their room. You are 20-30 steps from the beach from your front door. You can't ask for a better spot! The water here is very calm, which makes for great snorkeling and sea glass hunting :-) If we needed to go back to the room to get something or sit on the porch and enjoy another cup of coffee, we never had to worry about the kids being in the water alone, as we were close enough to see them playing in the calm waters.

There was never more than 15 people on the beach at any given time -- it's just that perfect! The rooms are quaint and come equipped with anything you need to enjoy your stay. We used the bbq grills under the gazebo a few nights and prepared the accompanying side dishes in the room and all dined together on the tables/chairs provided in the gazebo. It was fabulous!

They provide bikes, kayaks, a library full of books, beach toys, snorkel gear, etc for their guests at no charge. Their staff (hi Carmen!) is very accommodating and friendly and make you feel like family!

This place is truly one of my favorite places to spend my time. Thank you, Paul for another great experience!! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Cruzan has a fabulous porch! Our favorite spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
95
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were looking or something calm, quiet, and casual. No loud parties, no dressing up required, just relaxation. The cottages were exactly it! We stayed three nights in Carol's Rest and the cottage was perfectly appointed with everything we needed.

-All kitchen stuff provided.
-Beach towels in abundance.
-Plenty of linens and great housekeeping.

Paul was kind enough to check us in and point us towards a grocery store. The rest was up to us to do as little or as much as we liked. The property has a great beach with plenty of lounge chairs, you can also grab a board game or a book from the community area. Parking was easy. The keyless entry (you choose your own code) to the doors was a perfect touch as we never had to do the "who has the room key" routine. Frederiksted was QUIET and calm and the whole trip was so great I'm sad it wasn't longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our best vacation ever! Everyone was so nice and friendly! Our cottage Carol's Rest was so beautiful and comfortable! We renewed our 20+ marriage vow's barefoot on the beach at sunset our last night there and thank you, Paul for such a wonderful ceremony exchanging and renewing our vow's! Met some wonderful folks and we loved Beach Side Cafe and the way of life there so as soon as our little farm is sold we're moving to St Croix! Went condo shopping while there and look forward to many more sunsets! ~ Diana & George Saba in Tennessee

Room Tip: Absolutely Carol's Rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here from May 28, 2014 to June 9, 2014 and loved it! I stayed in Coral. It had a cute kitchen and a little bathroom. I stayed here with three of my classmates and the staff was very accommodating by finding four single beds for all of us.The beds were so comfortable! Our housekeeper, Reina, was very friendly and did a wonderful job cleaning our room. The staff provides a bucket on your cottage patio to rinse off your feet. The beach is right in front of the cottage. You couldn't ask for a nicer view. The cottages have air conditioning and free wifi. They provide you with bath towels and beach towels everyday with the exception of Wednesdays and Sundays. You can spend your time snorkeling, looking for sea glass or just relaxing on the beach.

The cottages are very homey and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying at Cottages by the Sea!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Based on a friend’s recommendation we chose to dive with N2 the Blue and through their website found Cottages by the Sea. What a perfect little place to spend a week! They are conveniently located about a mile from downtown Frederiksted. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a full kitchen, plenty of storage, air conditioning, and free wifi. They are located on a beautiful sandy beach facing west so each evening we were blessed with a glorious sunset.

We did not rent a car as all we planned to do was dive. Cottages has bikes available for guests to use – so we pedaled into town each morning. It was fun and added an element of charm to our visit. There is a restaurant (Beachside Café) located next door to the property so between the kitchen and the restaurant, we really did not need a car on this trip.

If you are looking for a quiet & safe place to stay in Frederiksted, look no further. Cottages by the Sea has everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am a travel agent and this was my first trip to the island of St. Croix. My sweetheart picked out the hotel and we could not have stayed in a more perfect place for our trip. Cottages are located right in front of one of the loveliest beaches in the Caribbean, with aqua-jewel water, palm trees and great views of the ocean at sunset. We stayed in Calypso Cottage, equipped with a full kitchen, comfortable chairs, a nice walk-in shower, an outdoor porch area with table and chairs and master bed that was so ridiculously soft that we had to force ourselves out of it every morning! The staff was also accomodating, friendly and gave us info on dinning and excursions that we were interested in taking. Kudos to Paul, Jeremey, Mahlik, the cleaning crew and everyone at Cottages by the Sea. In our time there, you guys became like longtime friends to us and we appreciate the unforgettable experience you helped make possible. We will be back to St. Croix again soon and we will always want to stay at Cottages.

- Tracy Maxey/Travel Agent/Memphis, TN

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We can't say enough amazing things about "Cottages by the sea"! We stayed in the Charthouse with our family of six. They made sure there was a bed for every person. They moved furniture around to accommodate a set of bunk beds, two twins and a very large king bed for each person to have their own space to sleep. We had a very nicely equipped kitchen to prepare many of our own meals, which really helped cut down on food cost during our stay. They bathroom was large and had lots of space for hanging wet suits and towels. We couldn't have been more grateful for the two A/C units in the cottage for our nights out of the sun.

When we first called to book the room we were treated with such kindness and understanding of our large family. They were so friendly and made sure to communicate back to us our needs in order to get it all done and ready for when we arrived. The Charthouse has it's own private patio area that we could lock up at night. It was were we spent most of our lazy lunch times in between the time spent in the water.

It's location was paradise in every way. We were just feet from the sand and water. The water was beyond beautiful with snorkeling every single day. The beach is calm, and has the most perfect soft sand. Most of the time our family felt like the beach was all to ourselves. We came during the school year, so outside of a few very sweet retired couples and a few local families in the evenings, we really did have it all to ourselves. We loved the many things they had on hand for their guest's use. They had a few little boats to take out on the water, snorkel gear, bikes for a ride into town, a small library for those restful afternoons of reading, games to play with the kids and sand toys for my daughter. It was nice to know that we could use any of those at any time for no additional charge and not have to add luggage in bringing our own.

We truly felt like we spent a week in Heaven while staying at the "Cottages by the Sea". My husband's boss has already booked a stay there after hearing about our experience and my Vet was looking them up just today to go for a stay after she heard about it as well.

We are looking forward to future family and Daddy/Mommy get-a-ways in St. Croix staying at "Cottages by the Sea" every time! Thank you so very much for a magical and most relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Charthouse was the best for large families. It's also detached for the other cottages which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.