We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Venere.com
and 2 more sites!
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife & I have been coming to the Cottages for quite a while. The reasons we keep returning are simple. This is a very special place hidden away on one of the best beaches on St. Croix. The service is wonderful from the time you make the reservation until its time to say good-by at the end of your visit. The staff will bend over backward to help you out. There are always suggestions about places to eat & things to see. The Cottages relationship with the best dive operator on island is also a huge plus. It is a real slice of the Caribbean and not another pretentious stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
88
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at the Cottages at least 9 times in variouz months over the past few years. Have never been disappointed by the cleanliness and maintenance of the facility. GREAT beach front location and extremely relaxing and peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was part of a group that stayed here for a long weekend in the spring. We didn't have rental cars, but Paul and the staff was not only great about helping us navigate the public transportation system, they also picked us up when we couldn't catch a bus. (For me, at least, this was unprecedented service.) The staff showed us great bars and hangouts in Frederiksted and generally helped us plan activities.

The rooms are clean and comfortable (and air-conditioned if you need it), the kitchens are well-equipped, and many of the buildings's stone exteriors were hand-crafted by staff members. You're a thirty second walk from the water.

Cottages by the Sea is the best. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a family run operation with a great beach with small waves, and very gentle drop off. It is far from the noisy night spots of Christiansted, which suit us fine. Lots of books to read, and great sunsets on the patio. A kayak is available for enthusiasts.
A good restaurant next door, and a great deli (the Turtle Deli) is nearby in Fredricksted. When a cruise ship docks in Fredricksted, lots of tourist booths show up on the main street, which is a nice walk from the resort.
Great value for the money.

Room Tip: Look at the map online to choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamping Ground, Kentucky
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 1 week in July 2013 at the cottages. We were looking for a quite spot to just relax. The Cottages will give you this for sure. The Staff are all very helpful and Paul is a great host. Our room was the Crow's Nest and it provided a great view of the water and beach. The rooms are not overly modern but ours was clean and provided all we needed for the week. We cooked most of our meals at the grills on site and ate breakfast every morning on the balcony. The other folks staying at the Cottages were all friendly and fun to interact with. The snorkeling right in front of the Cottages was great for spending hours in the water. We have already booked our reservation for next year. If you don't need fancy this place is amazing.

Room Tip: Crow's Nest had amazing views and provided a good level of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family of four spent a week at Cottages by the Sea in St. Croix. The cottage was clean and right on the beach. It could not have been a better view. The management was so accommodating that we felt like part of the family. We knew this was a great choice when the other guests that we met had been coming to Cottages by the Sea year after year. It truly was a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Best vacation ever. The owner is amazing and everyone is very accommodating. The rooms are all adorable and individually decorated. Access to the very quiet beach is super close and convenient. This was one of the best vacations I've ever had! I don't know how you'd be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted
Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list