We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooler than a Caribbean breeze” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cooler than a Caribbean breeze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We hadn't been to Cottages in more than five years. My sweetie loves them so much, a return visit was her 60th birthday wish. We were not disappointed. The Benedict family, especially Paul, is constantly improving the Cottages. They possess a quiet dignity which is a nice refuge from the hectic pace of life found on the other parts of St Croix. The Cottages are a few steps away from the Caribbean and possess a gateway to some excellent snorkelling and beach areas. Too, they are close to a good market and plenty of good restaurants. If you really want to stay in the Caribbean and not some type of pre-packaged wannabe, stay here. This is the real deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

To put it simply, Cottages by the Sea is wonderful! Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Paul, the manager, who was incredibly helpful and accommodating our entire stay. Our cottage was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a fully-equipped kitchen and unparalleled proximity to the beach - literally a couple steps from the sand and ocean! The sunsets were breath-taking! The water was so calm and inviting it was impossible not to spend hours swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking each day. We also enjoyed borrowing the bikes to explore the nearby area and riding into Frederiksted (only about a mile away). We really can't say enough good things about Cottages. I'm not one to return to the same vacation destination twice, but I am already looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is the most amazing place I have ever seen, the beach is unreal, the rooms are great with nice little kitchen, the staff are great, Paul is the manager, he was great with us and very friendly, we stayed for 5 days and it was magical, I usually dont go back to same spot but Im planning to go back next year, I highly recommend this place, you can swim, drink, snorkel, walk, kayak, etc all in the hotel. truly the place to be!

Y.A.I

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Living on island is wonderful, but sometimes you just need to get away from the daily chores and all the mommy responsibilities! The weekend at Cottages by the Sea was very refreshing. It was a great place to rest and reconnect spiritually, emotionally, and physically. It really is charming and a great place to unwind from the busy lives we lead. It was so nice, I plan on taking my family there for a family getaway too!

Room Tip: If you choose the Caravelle, it has a great full kitchen and if you sleep without the a/c, you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the Cottages. We were impressed from the outset. Rooms were all comfortable and well appointed. The grounds have tons of character and flair, and they appealed to my kids as much or more than they did to my wife and me. I was happily surprised at the proximity to the water, with great sunbathing and snorkeling literally feet away from the doorstep. The staff was friendly and helpful. All told, this is now a family favorite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

You will be more than pleasantly surprised when you arrive at the Cottages by the Sea. The units are actual cottages, right on the sandy beach, where you can go swimming and snorkling to your heart's content. Walkable distance to Frederiksted, but I would advise a rental car to enjoy all the sights of St. Croix.

The rooms couldn't be more nicely decorated, with fully equipped kitchen. The staff is wonderful. Play Bachi Ball on the lawn overlooking the sea. Free Wi-Fi, at this intimate location, with a restaurant right next door if you just want to take it easy and not get in any car, or raise a hand at cooking.

The sunset from the lanais and lawn chairs on the sand will make you wonder how you ever thought any other place for a sunset was acceptable.

Book way ahead as there are long timers here who come every year - it is that wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can sit just outside your door and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is great place to relax and enjoy the beach. You can walk out of your room and lay on the best beach on the island. The owners make you feel welcome and we even got a free bottle of Rum waiting for us in the room. We stayed in the Charthouse and loved the view. I believe it has the best view of the water. The kitchen is fully stocked and they have plenty of grills for you to use. Carman was our maid for the week and she was great. I do suggest that if you plan on doing anything more than laying on the beach, rent a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.