We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Cottages by the Sea to your Saves list
Cottages by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Hanna, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beach Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cottages in Sylvia's Room. It was small, but adequate for 1 or 2 people---small fridge, micro, AC, queen bed, TV. There was also a patio just steps from the sand, water, and resort's covered patio. Front row seat to fantastic views and ever-changing sunsets. Cottages is very laid back with super cleanliness everywhere, friendly staff and guests. The beach was a perfect combination of sand and rock for swimming and snorkeling---beautiful and smooth water. The views were fantastic---less than a mile into Fredrickstedt and 2-3 miles to Sandy Point---all walkable along the beach. I especially enjoyed the snorkeling--walk out the front door, 20 paces to the water, and splash. I've snorkeled many of the best spots in the Caribbean. This wasn't the best, but factor in convenience and it was wonderful. I identified over 30 species, not including many small tropicals---turtles, lobster, lion fish, barracuda, flounder, sting ray, angelfish, butterfly fish, etc. Water depth ranged from 2 ft. to 20 ft. The hard and soft corals were numerous. It was a new adventure every day.
We rented a car for the entire time and went to all corners of the island. We enjoyed kayaking, an ATV ride into the rain forest, and geocaching. The dining was also great; we especially enjoyed Rhythms at Rainbow Beach, Rowdy Joes, Villa Morales, and Turtles Deli. See reviews in restaurant part.
I really enjoyed St. Croix, Cottages by the Sea, and our vacation. It was near perfection.

Room Tip: Each Cottage is unique. Use the website to get accurate info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Cottages about five times, and we have taken our daughter and son-in-law with us twice. Fredericksted in particular and St. Croix in general are places that bring back delightful memories of my younger days in the Navy, when we took advantage of a small underwater range off St. Croix.

Neither St. Croix nor Cottages is for everyone. St. Croix is a slow, laid-back island with a few tourist attractions. It doesn't take long to see them all, and it doesn't take long to run the circuit of shopping and restaurants. Once you've been snorkeling at Buck Island, see Point Udall, walked through the botanical gardens (pretty) and the one sugar plantation that is maintained as a museum, and driven through the pot-holed rain forest for the chance to see the beer-drinking pigs at the Domino Club, you've pretty much run the tourist spots. If you're looking for a relaxing place to slow down, enjoy the beach and read a good book, however, it doesn't get much better than Cottages.

We've gotten to know Paul Benedict and his family over the years, and they treat us like we're family. We've watched as Paul has progressively upgraded the cottages, and his work has shown care and a good eye.

Of course the best parts of Cottages are (1) the location, (2) the location and (3) the Benedict family and the people they employ. Added to that (when we've been there) are the people who stay there. There are many, many repeat customers (which says a lot in itself), and those are the kind of people who appreciate and enjoy a place like Cottages.

Cottages is an easy walk to the town of Fredericksted, where there are a few mini-marts, a couple shops and a couple restaurants. A word of caution is that Fredericksted has some rough neighborhoods.

If you're like us, you often plan your days in St. Croix to be back at Cottages for the 4 o'clock beach bocce ball, an unusual bocce venue and generally a group that spans multiple generations, with Paul's father the sleeper in the group who knows all of the secrets of his own bocce pitch.

Our last visit was prior to Jan 2012, but that was the earliest date available to choose.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different, and there are pretty good descriptions with maps of each room. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice clean rooms with right-on-the-beach location. No restaurant onsite. Of the places I've stayed in STX this is the most reasonable and consistently operated. The low water pressure seems to be the standard on the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Chart House, which we were told was and appeared to be the nicest cottage on the property, for 4 nights starting November 26. It was larger with a kitchen and nice big tiled shower. We were in St. Croix 9 years ago with a tour group and stayed at a large resort but we much prefer a smaller, family-owned accomodation. We had a rental jeep so we could go wherever we wanted and knew that many of the places we wanted to go were towards the other end of the island in Christiansted or further east, but I enjoy the caribbean driving style and driving added to my enjoyment of the vacation. Although driving is on the left side of the road, for a caribbean island St. Croix is not too difficult to maneuver, but we never found a map with all of the road numbers correct.
The cottages are very unpretentious but clean and have all the necessities to make the stay comfortable, including a refrigerator which we use to cool drinks and a kitchen, which we don't use. The staff was very friendly and offerred a late checkout on our last day, which we took advantage of because of our late flight. The other guests all seemed very friendly and everybody was obviously having a very good time. The cottages are all designed with many windows and the flow-through ventilation with open windows feels much better than air conditioning, which is available.
We usually spend very little time in our rooms, but the entire property seems to have an atmosphere of peace and relaxation and we spent more time than we usually do just hanging around our private shaded patio and using the chairs on the beach. Cottages by the Sea does have a very nice beach of its own and you can walk the beach all the way into Fredericksted in about 10 minutes each way.
My only suggestion to improve the Chart House cottage would be to remove the chain link fence along the beach in front of the patio so guests could access the beach from the patio and not have to look through a fence at the ocean. Carbbean islands and St. Croix in particular seem to have everything surrounded with high fences, closed gates, and barred windows. This may be a fallback to the era when wars were a threat and security was a problem, but we always felt safe and nothing threatening ever caused us any concern, and we explore backroads and mountaintop trails few tourists seldom venture on.
Fredericksted has a very limited number of restaurants and appears to close up completely at night, but a simple breakfast a Pollys and sandwiches at Turtles Deli or dinner at Turtles After Dark are all good. Don't be afraid to go in small local groceries to get bottles of pop or other snacks. The people are all friendly.

Room Tip: Chart House room is about 20 feet from the edge of the water and you can hear the crashing waves all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our visit was cut short because I came down with the flu, but we really enjoyed Cottages by the Sea. Very nice cottages on the beach w/ everything you need to have fun. Guest, employees, and owners are all very helpful and friendly. Need a car, especially on off season. Hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at Cottages by the Sea for 4 nights and just loved the stay there. The rooms were comfy and quaintly decorated. If you are looking to stay somewhere to relax and get away from the RAT RACE, this place is for you. There are several great places to eat in Fredricksted but if you are looking for the night life and party atmosphere then Fredricksted is pro ably not your ideal location. The staff at Cottages were fantastic and so very helpful. I plan to return soon and will be staying at Cottages by the Sea .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Got to St. Croix and checked in with Paul. The first thing he did after checking us in was told us he would drive us to a local place where we could get dinner (since we didn't have our rental car yet), later he came back and picked us up. Where can you get that!?
Rooms were great, people there are the best! Enjoyed our time so much. They have what you need there for kayaking, snorkeling, biking and just relaxing.
The views are the best. Withing walking distance to food and drink. Great fish to see while snorkeling or just swimming, beautiful sunsets!
Went for our 50th birthdays and want to go back.
Love Cottages By The Sea!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Sea

Address: 127A Estate Smithfield, Frederiksted 00840-3677, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1949, Cottages by the Sea is a family owned and operated, beachfront, boutique hotel, located just south of the town of Frederiksted on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. All cottages are newly remodeled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Cottages by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Sea Hotel Frederiksted
Cottages By The Sea St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.