We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, all purpose beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhythms at Rainbow Beach

Rhythms at Rainbow Beach
Rainbow Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
+1 340-772-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Frederiksted
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Best Bar and Top Beach on the island is situated less than a 10 minute walk or short cab ride from the Cruise Dock in Frederiksted. One-of-a kind sunsets and beautiful views! We are the original home of the Lime In The Coconut. Relax on the beach, catch a live performance on our famous stage by the islands best musicians, dance, eat great fare, jet ski, snorkel, visit our T-Shirt shop for authentic souvenirs, and even plan an ATV tour around the island. Just Limin & Stylin at Rhythms at Rainbow Beach!
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good, all purpose beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We visited Rainbow Beach as part of a cruise vacation. We took a shuttle ($6 pp, round trip), though we probably could have walked from the cruise ship. We could see the ship from the beach and it was only about a mile, though the roads are narrow with no sidewalks. We were the first ones there in the morning (Sunday) and it remained fairly uncrowded until about lunchtime. We paid $5 to rent each chair and an umbrella would have been another $10. We had hoped for good snorkeling, and there were a couple of small reefs on either side of the beach, but it was disappointing. We only saw a few fish and the water was not very clear. It was also a little rough the day we were there. The water in front of the beach at Rhythms had some small rocks in it, but even with bare feet, it was not too bad. It was beautiful and nice for swimming. Kayaks and wave runners were available for rent. We ordered a couple of drinks, but when we saw that the cheeseburgers were $10, we decided to go back to the ship for a late lunch. It was a nice day and the least expensive one of our trip.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    15
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great beach bar, great staff, a must stop place on STX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Recently visited Rhythms at Rainbow Beach and had a blast. We were there on a sunday which was one of the busier days I hear. Great drinks and live music on the carribean, is there anything better?

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rocks in the water and mouthy bartenders”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I visited Rhythms at rainbo beach in March of 2011. The beach had about 10-15 yards of rocks under teh water before you got to sand that you could actually stand up on without scratching up your feet. I thought that the Sarah the bartender was a real piece of work. She had a very smart mouth and lacked any sort of business professionalism. I would not recommend this spot to any visitors.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice quite little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Went here after the ATV tour...its a nice lil beach nothing crazy, very relazing and laid back, we rented jet skis and had lots of fun, I believe it something like 60$ for 30 mins. The beach is run mainly by Americans who moved down there, and they were super friendly, and don't try to push you into buying things, like other beaches. It is super relaxing and mellow, and also about a 30 min walk from the cruise ship. We actually walked across the beach all the way back to ship. The bar and restaurant are really nice as well, I do remember the food bieng a bit on the pricy side, but then again everything is more expensive on the islands. All in all a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real people and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This place is exactly what you dream of when you're at work at 4:59 fantasizing about being on a beach somewhere with an umbrella drink in a lounge chair (like a Corona commercial). This is no haughty tourist trap; many of the Americans that have relocated to St. Croix have decided to make their local stomping grounds. On my trip I ran into a myriad of fascinating and friendly characters, ranging from the mayor of a small town in New York (Mayor Bill), to a very peaceful old guy that a drug smuggler in the 70's and had moved to the islands to avoid persecution. Food is also tasty and the portions are pretty "old school." The Philly Cheesesteak seems to be a staple there, as the owners are from the east coast.

If you don't enjoy yourself here there is something wrong with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhythms at Rainbow Beach also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rhythms at Rainbow Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhythms at Rainbow Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.