We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estate Whim Museum

Estate Whim Museum
52 Estate Whim | Centerline Road, Rt 70, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340-772-0598
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 attractions in Frederiksted
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A restored example of life on a sugar plantation in the 1800s, this site features a great house filled with reproductions of colonial furniture, three-foot-thick walls made of stone, coral and molasses, plus the original sugar processing plant and windmill.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Informative Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The property is filled with artifacts on the history of St. Croix which is truly informative and helps visitors to understand the richness of the island's culture.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My favorite historical tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This plantation was built in the 1700s. There is a great house that served as the main quarters for the various owners over the course of the years. Plan to be here for at least two hours and enjoy the personalized tour and plantation fields.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots of history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

First of all, we had an AMAZING tour guide to show us around the house. She gave us a full account on the owner and the history surrounding the plantation and family. The grounds are extensive and the old sugar mill is big and beautiful and intriguing. Make sure to talk to the horses and take lots of photos. This sugar mill is the only one with its top and windmills still attached (that we saw). It really is a nice look into the Crucian culture.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting site- Loved our tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Whim plantation is a fascinating place in its own right but what made our experience truly memorable was our tour. We had our own personal tour when we arrived (the tours don't seem to be running on any particular schedule or maybe it was just a very slow day) and our guide filled it with lots of island trivia and lore. The narrated tour itself is just for the Great House and then visitors guide themselves through the rest of the grounds.

Our guide found us again after we returned from viewing the grounds and was explaining to us about the different kinds of trees, what they were used for traditionally, etc. Try to find the Bay leaves, they smelled really good!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a relaxing tour of an old plantation that explaines a lifestyle from long ago. Our tour guide was well spoken and very well informed. The antique furniture was interesting to see. it was well made considering there were only hand tools back then.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estate Whim Museum also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Estate Whim Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estate Whim Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.