We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gardens & Mango Melee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Village Botanical Garden

St. George Village Botanical Garden
127 Estate St. George | Kingshill, Just north of Centerline Road, 4 miles east of Frederiksted, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340-692-2874
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Frederiksted
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Sights & Landmarks, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing foliage, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can stroll amid the ruins of this 17-acre estate, a former 19th-century sugarcane plantation village, which contains varied ecosystems from semi-arid cactus to lush green rain forest.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Gardens & Mango Melee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our first visit to the Gardens had a bonus attached, Mango Melee was in full swing. In addition to being St. Croix's botanical garden, St. George Village also hosts a number events throughout the year. On this weekend in early July, they hosted an event called Mango Melee. The Gardens provide a perfect backdrop to this or any event, so check out their website and on-line calendar. By happening by on this particular weekend we were able to enjoy the gardens, the plantations buildings and all the plantings as well as areas where local crafters were selling all kinds of items made "on island", farms were displaying and selling magnificent tropical fruits grown locally and stands selling freshly blended fruit juices as well as other foods and snacks. A number of activities also took place including mango eating contests and DJs playing music and inviting the crowds to line dance. The atmosphere was very welcoming and open and everyone in our family had a grand time. Advice: Bring your camera and a tripod. This is a perfect place to take some family, friend or couple portraits. Additionally, the Gardens are well worth a visit regardless if anything else is planned on site.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“It is an unique botanic garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

St George Village botanical garden is very unique botanic garden because it is in the ruins of 19th century Danish sugar cane plantation. It is not the place that you are looking for exotic flowers, but appreciate over 1500 native exotic plants. I highly recommend to take the tour in the garden. It was very educational and interesting. I like the most are those unusual trees, which I did not see in any other places, such as sausage tree and cannonball tree. I was also interested in the usage of each plant in the medicinal herb garden. The plants are around the remains of the original plantation buildings and the cemetery. It is a very beautiful place to combine the history and nature.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“St. George Village Botanical Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This attraction was one of the best things we did on a nine day vacation, that included St. Thomas, St. Johns, Water Island, and Old San Juan Puerto Rico.

The botanical gardens are set in the ruins of a plantation that has been both a cattle ranch and a sugar plantation. The plantings are mixed around the remains of the original buildings and the cemetery. It is a very beautiful place and has some extroardinary plants. The history of ownership is listed in the small museum building along with a video of how both cattle and sugar plantations were operated. You can chose one of two guided tours or just walk the property on your own with the tour maps and explanations of the areas.

The property has a gentle roll and it is fairly easy walking to tour the entire area. We were very pleased and it was well worth the $8 admission. Note: The Garmin did not locate it accurately. If you are coming from the airport, take a right on the main road and it is less than a quarter of a mile on the left to the turn off.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful,peaceful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Enjoyed our visit to the gardens. Only a few people that day so we pretty much had it to ourselves. Beautiful setting and gardens.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Gorgeous flowers, trees and bushes nestled among a former working sugar plantation. History and horticulture combined make for a wonderful visit. Allow 1-1.5 hours there

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Village Botanical Garden also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to St. George Village Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Village Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.