We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a simple, nice place right on the water....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off All Rooms
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a simple, nice place right on the water....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I've been coming to this hotel since 1985 (when it was first called The Kind Frederik), and I keep returning to this spot in St. Croix. Friends keep asking me why I don't try other places. And it's simply because I don't get a chance to take a vacation like this more than once a year, and instead of risking being disappointed somewhere that I've never been (which has happened), I return to the place where I reach absolute states of bliss. And it's exactly what I'm looking for.

I like to be right on the water, so that I can get up at 7 am and start my day swimming. If you're the kind of person who enjoys being near the water on your vacation, this is the place to be. The hotel is very simple, the rooms vary in size, some with terraces, some not, some with kitchens, some not. It is very well-kept, the grounds are full of different kinds of foliage and the ambience is total laid back.

Frederiksted is a sleepy little town and so far has avoided the development that so many other places have. To me, that's a major plus. Again, this might not be for everyone, but for me it's what I want. The people are friendly for the most part. And again, you have a beautiful beach to walk on, and if you're into swimming and snorkeling, you'll be pleased.

I've found that a rental car is a pretty handy thing to have, to go exploring other parts of the island, to go out to dinner and to go to the store. I've gone with friends, family and even by myself and always felt comfortable.

I highly recommend Sand Castle on the Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
117
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited for just the day because we were on a cruise and were very happy with our experience. We were able to walk here from the ship in about 30 minutes, with most of the walk being close to the the water with sidewalks. We were able to get 2 chairs, an umbrella and 2 rum punches for $25. This also included the use of their facilities for the day, which included a pool area. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and it was very disappointing, especially considering the cost. “Ocean View” is a joke. There was a little patio enclosed by steel bars that one had to look through and squint to see across the pool area to the ocean about a block away. The restaurant was closed a lot, not even open as advertised. Continental breakfast was only the cheapest, stale pastries, poor quality juice and coffee. And when cruise ships are in the harbor they offer a deal for cruise passengers to come to their limited beach area, thereby denying reasonable access for folks paying to stay at Sand Castle. One day we saw about 25 umbrellas go up for the day-trippers (about 75 people) on the hotel’s small beach area. No, we will not go back to Sand Castle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had never stayed at Sand Castles before. This is a top rate property. The staff is over the top friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar serve great drinks and food. The beach on west end is great. We will definitely stay there next time we visit STX

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy, IN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

FIRST I want to say the STAFF HERE PUTS THIS PROPERTY AT THE TOP....Erma, at the front desk...friendly and professional. Robert, bellman, night security,...friendly and knowledgeable. Jay, Scott and Rita (wait staff).....friendly and attentive. Mike....the van driver they suggest. And the young man from North Dakota who is the sous chef, they all are Absolutely the best. If you have an issue, please let them know and they will do what they can to handle it.

LET'S START WITH THE ROOMS...We stayed in Room 204 (sea view suites) which is upstairs from the front desk. First of all the map of rooms on their site is nothing like the way they are located. But it would be confusing to try to give you a layout of how this property is organized. I would definitely suggest that you upgrade and go for the 2nd floor level. Because the rooms windows have shutter type coverings over the screens and noise does come through (noise from the lobby, outdoors, street, etc...).That took some getting use to. So BE AWARE when you are walking around on the property....Keep noise to a MINIMUM because I imagine that all the rooms could hear your conversations quite well. They have the newer wall A/C units that work very well. There is a living room and small kitchen and walk out balcony. The sliding door lock doesn't work but they have ornamental bars around the balcony so we were ok. They supply you with an ice cooler to take down to the beach which was real handy. Bathroom was fine, didn't care to see a plunger beside the toilet nor did I like the dark shower curtain. I have germ issues so we bought Bleach cleaner to spray down shower basin (MY OWN personal issue). Anyway, we did not have HOT water. It was warm and low pressure but I had heard that they were working on the issue. Showering in the evenings worked better. Hopefully it will be fixed soon. Bedroom was nice, the bed was quite comfortable. All and All it took some getting use to but we had and extremely enjoyable time. And we will miss this island gem.

FOOD and RESTAURANTS...the breakfast (Danish, muffins, bagels, breads, orange juice, coffee/tea and boiled eggs). It would have been nice if they offered yogurt, cold/hot cereal. SIDE NOTE....We did find POLLY'S AT THE PIER restaurant that served an excellent breakfast, short taxi ride away. Getting back to Sand Castle, the lunch and dinner was very good and service.

BEACH...ocean was nice, small waves, relatively calm. Being that this is one of the few properties that is on the west side of the island....THE SUNSET WAS SPECTACULAR. Sunset is about 6:30pm and picture perfect. BE AWARE.....YOU MUST TAKE MOSQUITO REPELLANT, whenever it rains or start to get dark, you will get many bites if you are without it.

OK, we did not rent a car since they drive on the opposite side of the street. But on our first day we did find an excellent TAXI guy named STEVEN. YOU MUST REALIZE that TAXIS STOP BY 9;30-10PM. And you have friendly taxis and rude taxis.....#1 recommendation is to keep this number in your phone.....Stevens cell is 1(340) 227-7945. He is a life saver. We tipped him well and many times pre-arranged for pick ups and drop offs the whole vacation. They have $2.50 taxi vans and regular taxi vans. No way to tell which is which without asking before you get in. He has a brother and a father that also drives taxi vans. He is friendly, very knowledgeable and professional.

OH!!! And the airport taxi service was pretty rude. They have a monopoly on service from the airport. They charge 1 price for exclusive taxi van and another price for group travel. They charge $2.00 for luggage, but it could be $4.00 if luggage is so big. Then if you choose group travel and they don't have enough ppl to go they still just charge the group rate.

When you go to Sand Castle, relax and enjoy. It is not a Ritz Carlson but it is very nice for an island property.

Room Tip: Higher floor to help with noise issue and security of balcony. Choose upgraded room in order to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent two wonderful weeks in March on Saint Croix and at Sand Castle on the Beach. We have been coming there for 10 years now and it keeps drawing us back. We live in California and the trip getting there is a long day, but so worth it once there.

The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. The housekeeping staff are friendly and personable and willing to provide suggestions on hidden gem places to see on the island. We even learned of a few new places to see on this trip. All the staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful - just ask anyone and they will do their best to resolve any issues or to give suggestions on places to see.

Sunsets from the hotel (western shore) are amazing. We saw some great sunsets in March - even the Green Flash once. While the Caribbean water is cooler than during the June-Oct time frame, it was still pleasant for swimming. A great way to spend some time is snorkeling and finding sea glass in different colors.

Although there are many other places to stay on St. Croix, we will always come back to Sand Castle on the Beach. It is comfortable, fits our needs and just a great place to relax.

While there, several cruise ships came into port. Although the beach and restaurant were busier than on days when no ship is in port, it was never over crowded or bothersome. And it is fun to go see the stalls set up for the cruise ships along the street by the pier. Some great locally made crafts and wares.

Restaurants - lots of great places to eat on the island. We love the Beachside Cafe at the Sand Castle. The burgers are wonderful - better than we've had most places in the world. We've never had a bad meal at the Beachside Cafe. Great variety of dishes on the menu. The night before we were leaving we had the Thai Noodle Bowl - HUGE portions and VERY good - be ready to take leftovers back to your room for a late nite/early morning snack or next days lunch!

Other places we love to eat at and managed to get to at least once on this trip in Frederiksted are Turtles Deli (great sandwiches), Blue Moon, Napoleons Pizza. In Christiansted - Rum Runners has a terrific lobster quesadilla. We did not get to Roses Dream Cuisine this trip but have heard really good recommendations and is on our list for our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at sand castle. Couldn't of had a better time. Saw amazing sunsets every night. Great place to relax and enjoy ocean/beach or pool. Staff was excellent dont just hang out there enjoy the rest of island which is short drive away. Take advantage of all the things to do

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Address: 127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel is literally, beachfront, on one of St. Croix's most beautiful swimming beaches! Hosting 21 accommodations with differing room types that offer you the choice in travel style. Embrace the diversity, and enjoy the natural surroundings with a sense that the hands of time are pausing as you unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach Hotel St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.