We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Denver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“An oasis...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just spent 9 nights at Sand Castle and came away with a very favorable impression of the hotel despite it being a very slow time on the island.

First and foremost, the people are what makes this made a positive experience. Irma was very welcoming and always friendly. The housekeeping and grounds staff were wonderful and friendly also. Bruno kept us in stitches with his great sense of humor but was always quick to lend assistance with a beach umbrella, a kayak, etc. Scotty in the bar makes terrific daiquiris! Sheryl, one of the owners, was very warm and friendly as well. Everyone was very attentive without being intrusive.

We had dinner our first night at the restaurant and the food and service was terrific. My partner was in LOVE with the white chocolate bread pudding.

I would caution that this is a place for seasoned travelers. This isn't a luxury resort. It's a quaint, beautiful and friendly oasis. We did have a couple issues (the shower basin not draining properly and the air conditioner in the bedroom leaking water) but the staff responded IMMEDATELY when we brought these to their attention.

I say this because I have traveled to several islands in the Caribbean and know that to get to the beautiful beach scenes you see on post cards, that you often have to go through some depressing and seedy looking areas. St. Croix is no different in that aspect.

Fredericksted is about a mile down the beach from the hotel but was a virtual ghost town for the entire time we were there except for the two times that cruise ships were in dock. There are a couple small restaurants and bars in town but we were warned not to walk from the hotel to town after dark.

Christiansted is bigger than Fredericksted and has a more shops and restaurants but it's about a 40 minute drive from the hotel. Taxis are expensive so I would strongly recommend renting a car while on the island. It's at least 2-3 miles to the nearest grocery store.

They do drive on the left but all the roads on the island are two lanes - one for each direction so just make sure that you always have the shoulder of the road on the driver's side - or that on the same side of the road as the car in front of you. The worst that will happen is someone will honk at you and that's a small price to pay for the money you'll save on taxis and the opportunities you'll give yourself to see more of the island.

We booked our vacation in late October to avoid "hurricane season". The weather was terrific the entire time. A couple late night rain storms but every day the sun was out all day. But with that said, many of the shops and restaurants were still closed as the islands go on vacation during this time. I recommend researching when the best time to go to the island is based on your own personal preferences.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301. The front door opened up to a patio area that fronted the beach. The room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    58
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
123
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We never had to worry about anything hike staying at sand castle. Aside from the restaurant not being open everyday. But there are plenty I places within a five or ten minute walk that were perfect. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The cab drivers they refer people to are fantastic. Prices were reasonable and we snorkels right off the property literally every day. Awesome spot for a low key vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first trip to the Carribbean and the Sand Castle family treated us like one of their own. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. Irma, Sparkle, Kelly and everyone at the front desk were very helpful and very sweet. The pool and pool area was beautiful and well maintained. We met Bruno and he gave us a very special island tour and showed us things we could have never seen without his guidance. Thanks again Bruno! We love you man! The beach here is so beautiful. we watched dolphins swim by most every morning and again at sunset... SPECTACULAR!!! We met a lot of local people at the pool and their acceptance and warmth is what made our trip so super special. It was off season and the restaurant was closed for a vacation but we did sit in the dining room area a few times and it is beautiful. We will most definitely be staying at the Sand Castle on the Beach during future visits to St Croix! We LOVED it! Thanks again Sand Castle Family! For everything!!!'

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

While spending the afternoon at Rhythms at Rainbow Beach we asked our bartender Jamie where we could get a nice meal in Frederiksted. Jamie made a quick call and got us reservations at the restaurant in the Sand Castle on the beach hotel. When we arrived the staff treated us like we were celebrities, they went out of there way to make us feel special and even set us up a table right on the beach next to the ocean. Our waiter Bruno was great he was light hearted and full of energy and laughter, the food was some of the best we had during our stay in St.Croix, we even met the owner when we were leaving she was very friendly and made the dinner even that more memorable. We rate this place 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to everyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The gem of the Caribbean!

My wife and I have come to this resort over and over again. It's quiet, clean, and just a mile outside of town - close enough to be convenient, but far enough to really feel paradise. The staff is friendly, both swimming pools maintained well, and their restaurant... wow. Five nights a week, the Beachside Cafe serves everything from burgers to grilled cedar-plank mahi.

There is a physical therapy center on-site which offers a range of services from a simple massage to serious rehab. There is a multitude of things to do here: yoga, ai chi, wine tasting, BEER tasting, snorkeling and scuba diving, private and personal island tours... and all of it right here on property! We keep returning, and we don't plan to stop.

Thank you Sand Castle on the Beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Sand Castle on the Beach. We booked it on Expedia and it was a less pricey place to stay. What a pleasant surprise! The staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious and the furnishings were very comfortable. Best of all we were in an ocean front room and could leave our windows open and use a ceiling fan rather than air conditioning. The owners are very hands on and a lot of fun to talk to and ensure that everyone has a positive stay. My only complaint is that the restaurant was closed Tues. and Wed. (We arrived on Tues.) It's a marvelous restaurant with a fantastic Chef. The meals were delicious and reasonably priced.
We went to St. Croix to help our daughter get settled there as she will be going to school there to become a Physicians Assistant. As such we'll have ample opportunities over the next two and a half years to return to the island. We fully intend to stay at Sand Castle on the Beach for all of our future visits!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Sand Castle on the Beach and I wanted to express my gratitude and pleasure to the staff. The personal and warm reception was outstanding and the helpfulness, professionalism and enthusiasm of all involved were refreshing.

Sand Castle on the Beach is one of those places that is close enough to town (Frederiksted) that you don’t feel inconvenienced if you need to run to town for something, but far enough away that you don't get the traffic and noise of a town. The Beach at Sand Castle is long and inviting, it is situated so that you don't get the rough seas that other beaches on St Croix can get.

We spent 7 days on St Croix, but only spent 2 days at Sand Castles. We are planning on coming back next year for a longer stay (possibly 10 days) and have decided that we are staying exclusively at Sand Castles.

The Staff at Sand Castle on the Beach helped make our vacation a very enjoyable, relaxing and memorable one. Thank You !

Room Tip: We stayed across the road from the main Hotel, not an inconvenience at all, Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Address: 127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach is a boutique, beachfront hotel on one of St. Croix's most beautiful swimming beaches with over 2 miles of white sandy beach! We offer 5 room types from beachfront villas to economical studios affording you multiple options in size and location of your accommodations. Choose from our spacious villas overlooking the beach, Queen Studios, King Studios with balconies, one-bedroom suites or roomy two-bedroom suites. Our quaint, beach side boutique hotel is designed to meet your personal vacation style. We maintain a sense of intimacy and freedom in this seaside oasis. It's our home and we invite you to relax and unwind in this comfortable and tranquil setting. No passport required for US citizens traveling to the US Virgin Islands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach Hotel St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.