We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% Off All Rooms
Ranked #2 of 3 Frederiksted B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

While spending the afternoon at Rhythms at Rainbow Beach we asked our bartender Jamie where we could get a nice meal in Frederiksted. Jamie made a quick call and got us reservations at the restaurant in the Sand Castle on the beach hotel. When we arrived the staff treated us like we were celebrities, they went out of there way to make us feel special and even set us up a table right on the beach next to the ocean. Our waiter Bruno was great he was light hearted and full of energy and laughter, the food was some of the best we had during our stay in St.Croix, we even met the owner when we were leaving she was very friendly and made the dinner even that more memorable. We rate this place 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to everyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
117
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The gem of the Caribbean!

My wife and I have come to this resort over and over again. It's quiet, clean, and just a mile outside of town - close enough to be convenient, but far enough to really feel paradise. The staff is friendly, both swimming pools maintained well, and their restaurant... wow. Five nights a week, the Beachside Cafe serves everything from burgers to grilled cedar-plank mahi.

There is a physical therapy center on-site which offers a range of services from a simple massage to serious rehab. There is a multitude of things to do here: yoga, ai chi, wine tasting, BEER tasting, snorkeling and scuba diving, private and personal island tours... and all of it right here on property! We keep returning, and we don't plan to stop.

Thank you Sand Castle on the Beach!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Sand Castle on the Beach. We booked it on Expedia and it was a less pricey place to stay. What a pleasant surprise! The staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Our room was spacious and the furnishings were very comfortable. Best of all we were in an ocean front room and could leave our windows open and use a ceiling fan rather than air conditioning. The owners are very hands on and a lot of fun to talk to and ensure that everyone has a positive stay. My only complaint is that the restaurant was closed Tues. and Wed. (We arrived on Tues.) It's a marvelous restaurant with a fantastic Chef. The meals were delicious and reasonably priced.
We went to St. Croix to help our daughter get settled there as she will be going to school there to become a Physicians Assistant. As such we'll have ample opportunities over the next two and a half years to return to the island. We fully intend to stay at Sand Castle on the Beach for all of our future visits!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Sand Castle on the Beach and I wanted to express my gratitude and pleasure to the staff. The personal and warm reception was outstanding and the helpfulness, professionalism and enthusiasm of all involved were refreshing.

Sand Castle on the Beach is one of those places that is close enough to town (Frederiksted) that you don’t feel inconvenienced if you need to run to town for something, but far enough away that you don't get the traffic and noise of a town. The Beach at Sand Castle is long and inviting, it is situated so that you don't get the rough seas that other beaches on St Croix can get.

We spent 7 days on St Croix, but only spent 2 days at Sand Castles. We are planning on coming back next year for a longer stay (possibly 10 days) and have decided that we are staying exclusively at Sand Castles.

The Staff at Sand Castle on the Beach helped make our vacation a very enjoyable, relaxing and memorable one. Thank You !

Room Tip: We stayed across the road from the main Hotel, not an inconvenience at all, Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our second visit to St. Croix and Sandcastles was our home away from home again. The staff was exceptionally helpful and it was great to see all the familiar faces again. Bruno, Scott, Cheryl, Simmone and ERMA! Got there on an earlier flight and we had a relaxing afternoon the first day. Sure wish something could be done about the high cost of utilities on the Island, it is killing the businesses and locals. We noticed the facelift of the facilities this time and mentioned it to the staff. So glad to see the fresh paint and new landscaping going in. Wonderful meals at their restaurant as we remembered, the chef and waitstaff all do such a great job. Ventured to Point Udall and the north shore this visit, something not to miss! Had lunch at Harvey's in Christensted and enjoyed their local home cooking and drank ginger beer as well. Saw water spouts at Rhythms at Rainbow Beach one afternoon after we stopped for lunch and another at Off the Wall on the north shore. Met so many nice and friendly people again this trip from various parts of the US. Many were return guests just like us who make this their annual vacation getaway. (Shout out to Caroline and Spencer) we will contact you soon about the painting!
Take some time and explore the island and all it has to offer. The locals are friendly and want you to experience their beautiful paradise. Rent a car as it is the most efficient way to get around or try the local bus service which can get you to outer areas of the island for a lot less then taxi's.
The villas at Sandcastle are spacious and comfortable. Can't beat the Caribbean blue water, whit sandy beaches and glorious sunsets... Ahh, we want to be there again already.

Room Tip: The villas are the way to go for just a little bit more and don't forget to ask for the returnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our third stay at Sandcastle on the Beach. The owners are hands on and the staff is very attentive and wonderful! Everyone is so nice, it's like your visiting family. The restaurant is excellent! They keep every part of the property very clean and we always feel safe. It was a great trip and cannot wait until next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed only one night, but we were overall happy with our choice. The hotel is about a mile south of Frederiksted right on the beach. After the woman at the front desk couldn't find the keys to our first room, she upgraded us to one of the large suites. The hotel has a small pool and is right on the beach. The attached restaurant, for which we got a free welcome-drink coupon, had great food for a reasonable price. Unfortunately, it rained and thunder-stormed during the sunset, but otherwise, it is a prime location to watch the sun set on St. Croix. The continental breakfast is solid, but not spectacular.
Overall, the hotel is a great choice for someone looking for a beach vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel

Address: 127 Smithfield | Frederiksted Beach, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Frederiksted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Frederiksted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel is literally, beachfront, on one of St. Croix's most beautiful swimming beaches! Hosting 21 accommodations with differing room types that offer you the choice in travel style. Embrace the diversity, and enjoy the natural surroundings with a sense that the hands of time are pausing as you unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle On The Beach Hotel St. Croix/Frederiksted

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.