We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sandwich place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
625 Strand Street, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340/772-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Frederiksted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
uk/usa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good sandwich place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

recently moved to st.croix. been to turtle's for lunch a couple times. located on a section of the island with beautiful water, good sand beach with easy non-rock access to water. sandwiches very good, made to order with whatever you want on them but chips, drinks etc are a la carte! about $11 a sandwich plus extras.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    174
    49
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very good and unique sandwiches with generous portion sizes. We were a bit disappointed that the price of $11 for a sandwich did not include chips or anything with it, but those prices may be normal for St. Croix. Since we were on a cruise I think I would have rather eaten lunch on the boat, but if I were vacationing in St. Croix I would have it on my list of places to try. The outdoor seating has a beautiful view.

Tip: We had trouble locating it at first thinking we must have passed it but it is located beyond all of the shops in town on Strand St. Eventually you will see a little archway with a path leading to the deli along the shore. All of the locals know where it is at.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We actually ate at Turtles After Dark, which is the upstairs restaurant above the deli. Same great food, good service. They offer a good dinner menu! We had the grouper and champagne chicken. No complaints, it was all great. It's a bit of a local hang out, and they were playing trivia that night, we didn't participate but listening was fun! I can't say much about the view due to darkness,but you could hear the ocean from our table. It's not a fancy place but they have good food, good service, at reasonable prices. There is a bar inside the restaurant with a large bar menu. Large portions abound.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Turtle's is a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We happened upon Turtle's deli after a quick hike up to the light house and let me tell you, it did not disappoint. We loved it so much that we came back a second time. We even wanted to take some sandwiches to go for our flight but we didn't have time. The people are nice, the sandwiches are great, and the view is perfect. One of the island's best kept secrets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Huge portions for reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The sandwiches are huge (some larger than others). The food is great. The view is spectacular. Note: they only take cash.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.