We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sandwiches, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
625 Strand Street, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340/772-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Frederiksted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderful place with fantastic fresh sandwiches and a good bottle beer selection. Favorite lunch spot in Fredricksted!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    49
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb deli on west side of St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turtle's has terrific sandwiches. We especially enjoy the Reubens, but everything we've tried has been excellent. Fair warning: the sandwiches are quite large. Don't fill up on chips while you're waiting!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good sandwiches, about $10-15 each, made while you wait. Lots of novels line the walls, you could sit & read. Very friendly cat lives here. Resident rooster strolled by. A coffee/expresso bar is present, but looked seldom used. Very nice covered outdoor dining patio. I got the impression that a large percentage of their new customers visit due to tripadvisor reviews, they even have a tripadvisor decal on display. I thought sandwiches were large, not colossal, but tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic and LARGE sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice views while waiting and eating. Sandwiches were unique and hard to decide the all sounded yummy combinations. Price for our sandwich w/out chips was 10 so we thought it might be large and decided to split one. Glad we did. I could barely finish my half. We were there during a slow time and saw lots of locals coming and getting to-go orders. That's always a good sign. Only draw back is parking. Large drainage ditch so be careful pulling into spaces on street and only 3 spaces down the little alley way. Worth the walk if u have too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bigger sandwiches than you can finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great deli sandwiches with the usual array of beers and soft drinks.
Can get crowded at lunchtime. Eat with your toes in the sand with an ocean view!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.