We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle's Deli

Turtle's Deli
37 Strand Street | Prince Passage, Frederiksted, St. Croix
340/772-3676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Central PA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good sandwiches, about $10-15 each, made while you wait. Lots of novels line the walls, you could sit & read. Very friendly cat lives here. Resident rooster strolled by. A coffee/expresso bar is present, but looked seldom used. Very nice covered outdoor dining patio. I got the impression that a large percentage of their new customers visit due to tripadvisor reviews, they even have a tripadvisor decal on display. I thought sandwiches were large, not colossal, but tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    71
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eclectic and LARGE sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice views while waiting and eating. Sandwiches were unique and hard to decide the all sounded yummy combinations. Price for our sandwich w/out chips was 10 so we thought it might be large and decided to split one. Glad we did. I could barely finish my half. We were there during a slow time and saw lots of locals coming and getting to-go orders. That's always a good sign. Only draw back is parking. Large drainage ditch so be careful pulling into spaces on street and only 3 spaces down the little alley way. Worth the walk if u have too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bigger sandwiches than you can finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great deli sandwiches with the usual array of beers and soft drinks.
Can get crowded at lunchtime. Eat with your toes in the sand with an ocean view!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Turtle Deli. You get huge portions for the money and everyhing was delicious. Awesome place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The sandwiches at this place are huge and delicious!! We took half of our sandwiches back to the cottage for dinner that night! Enjoyed eating outside at lunch and upstairs for dinner - beautiful views from both dining area! Price not bad when you can get 2 meals out of one order!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle's Deli also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Turtle's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.