We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an excellent flavorful meal....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 restaurants in Frederiksted
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Eclectic Dining Beach Side or right on the Beach!
New York City, New York
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“For an excellent flavorful meal....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This restaurant is right next door to Sand Castle on the Beach and has never disappointed. The food is out of this world, and if you're into well prepared, fresh sea food, look no further.

Five stars from me!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    74
    33
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Big difference from previous visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had enjoyed this restaurant on our last visit to St. Croix and scheduled two dinners for this trip. They have a new chef. What a difference! Very disappointing! It had been expensive on the previous trip but at least the food was very good. Not on this trip –it was way overpriced for mediocre, undistinguished food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Beach Side Cafe is consistently great. The burgers and bang bang shrimp are something we always look forward to having. The Thai Noodle Bowls are wonderful (and expect to take home leftovers as the portions are large.

Whether having lunch or Sunday Brunch and enjoying the ocean views, or going for a terrific sunset dinner, Beach Side Cafe has never disappointed us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksted, St. Croix
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambiance! Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As a STX local, Beach Side Cafe is a favorite! There is always a charming and quaint ambiance and consistently great food. The wait staff is fun and friendly, the owners are creative with their eclectic menu options and effort to encourage a community appreciation for gourmet food and fine wine. The beer and wine club is an excellent idea and most enjoyable. Furthermore, knowing their chef is a member of the American Chefs Federation of STX is a sure sign of a clean and well managed kitchen. The sunset is immeasurable and the beautiful beachfront dining is always an incredible treat! Definitely a must if you are in STX!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had originally planned on going to a different restaurant that evening but ended up at the Beach Side Cafe. So glad we did. We were early and had no reservation so we were told to come back at 6:00 (opening time) to put in our names . Little bummed about that we left, drove around town and came back a little before 6:00. Rita told us we would have a table in 10 minutes! She guided us to a beach side table and gave us the best service possible. When she found out it was our 30th anniversary someone brought a vase of flowers to our table and another waitress made sure we would have some lovely pictures to commemorate this wonderful evening. The food was delicious, light but full of flavor. The sunset was mediocre but that was all right. We highly recommend having a beach side dinner at the Beach Side Cafe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.