We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Beach Side Cafe is consistently great. The burgers and bang bang shrimp are something we always look forward to having. The Thai Noodle Bowls are wonderful (and expect to take home leftovers as the portions are large.

Whether having lunch or Sunday Brunch and enjoying the ocean views, or going for a terrific sunset dinner, Beach Side Cafe has never disappointed us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    34
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksted, St. Croix
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambiance! Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As a STX local, Beach Side Cafe is a favorite! There is always a charming and quaint ambiance and consistently great food. The wait staff is fun and friendly, the owners are creative with their eclectic menu options and effort to encourage a community appreciation for gourmet food and fine wine. The beer and wine club is an excellent idea and most enjoyable. Furthermore, knowing their chef is a member of the American Chefs Federation of STX is a sure sign of a clean and well managed kitchen. The sunset is immeasurable and the beautiful beachfront dining is always an incredible treat! Definitely a must if you are in STX!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had originally planned on going to a different restaurant that evening but ended up at the Beach Side Cafe. So glad we did. We were early and had no reservation so we were told to come back at 6:00 (opening time) to put in our names . Little bummed about that we left, drove around town and came back a little before 6:00. Rita told us we would have a table in 10 minutes! She guided us to a beach side table and gave us the best service possible. When she found out it was our 30th anniversary someone brought a vase of flowers to our table and another waitress made sure we would have some lovely pictures to commemorate this wonderful evening. The food was delicious, light but full of flavor. The sunset was mediocre but that was all right. We highly recommend having a beach side dinner at the Beach Side Cafe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful water setting, fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have been going to the Beach Side Cafe for 10+ years and have never been dissappointed. The food is delicious and the wait sevice is fantastic. Ask for Rita. Often we get there in time to see the sunset on the Carribean Ocean in hopes of seeing "The Green Flash". If it's a clear sun set, you'll be in for a treat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Calm island time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good place to go for calm island time and a good salad or nice beachy day. Don't go if you are in a hurry but do go if you are not! Ask for a beachside table - ya mon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.