We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sunset and dinner here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice sunset and dinner here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Came here one night for a nice dinner right by the beach and to view a nice sunset. We accomplished it all. The wait staff was super friendly. They offered us some bug spray which I would highly recommend using especially after dusk. The sand fleas and/or no-see-ums will getcha otherwise. It's a really nice open-air place to eat on a nice warm evening. Everything we had was really good, including the local Island beers, my wife had a mango flavored one. I would definitely say we were glad we dined here, and i would recommend it if you're in the area. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    42
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Day at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Walked to this beach and restaurant from the ship port. Arrived to St. Croix on the Summit. Easy safe walk. We reserved a couple chairs and umbrella by email. Desk staff polite friendly and helpful! Beautiful location with a great view of the ship and port! We had lunch too. Not too costly, quick service, cold drinks, and good food. You cannot go wrong here. Save taxi fare and walk to this location!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sandcastles for the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

stayed for the day as in port with cruise ship - beach was a bit rocky and on the day we were there the tide was high/rough & we had some rain but otherwise it is a lovely place to spend the day, good good, great prices (2 chairs/1 umbrella/2 drinks) and nice lunch menu with great staff/service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You can't beat the view from this place for dinner. The sun sets on this side of the island. Bruno built a sand castle right in front of the café and lit torches on it. It was just a visually wonderful experience from the get go.

The food was terrific. The duck was crisp and delicious. The steak was excellent. My partner would fight you for the last slice of white chocolate bread pudding.

The service was always terrific - so different of what I'd come to expect from previous experiences in the Caribbean.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“CLOSEST TO "'COTTAGES"......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just next door. Very good food, good menu, great (and reasonable) drinks. It is right next door to "Cottages By The Sea" so very handy. Food prices can be "high" but the selection is good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.