We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from a chef.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted 00840, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Frederiksted
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy our beautiful, open-air, seaside terrace restaurant offering cuisine to satiate discriminating palates in a romantic Caribbean setting. Picture yourself looking out into the horizon from your beach side table and watching the spectacular sunset each and every day! Dining at the Beach Side Cafe is truly an extraordinary experience. Lunches are casual, breezy, and scrumptious, and dinner is simply a magical moment wrapped up into a perfect evening. The Iguana Lounge features daily Happy Hour specials and small plates to accompany your favorite cocktail and join us for live local music every Saturday night.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Review from a chef.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

the food was great, portions way to big. I am a chef from the US and would come back again. Wish they offered half portions at 75% if the cost bc I would eat here all meals. Drinks were good. Beach sounds 40 feet away while you eat. Amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but went there for Sunday brunch on a recommendation. The food was good and the service excellent! Bruno was helpful, informative about the attractions on the island and sang Happy Birthday to our neighboring table with a voice fit for the opera. The view is magnificent, the cocktails were tasty and the grounds were beautiful. My dish was good, and my companion's was fantastic. Thanks to Sand Castle and their employees for contributing to our awesome St Croix experience!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just got back from Sandcastle on the Beach. Our meals at the Beach Side Cafe were delicious! The first night we had a 22oz ribeye with garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables. It was a Saturday night, so the band was playing and we had candle lit table by the sea. During our stay, we also enjoyed lamb, calamari, giant burgers, and daily specials. The drinks weren't too bad either! The bartenders always had fresh fruit available for something fun to put in the blender.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“amazing view ...great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beach Side was right next door to our little paradise at Cottages and we ate here almost everyday! The food was really good, service (thank you Rita!) always spot on...and personable. Scott, the bartender is a wonderful guy and the whole experience there kept us coming back night after night!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last week a group of 12 + chefs decided to go out for dinner. 5 of is were from places outside St Croix. One of the chefs pick the Beach Side Café at the Sand Castle Hotel. We all had many different drinks, appetizers and of course main entrees. Service was superb! Our waiter was professional and had our order exactly correct. The quality of the food was excellent. We had everything from sandwiches, to chicken parmesan to steaks. Everything was prepared exactly how expected. We were a bunch of tourists that were treated like family. The total check was very reasonable. I will be a return customer. I strongly recommend this café to all that visit the beautiful Island of St Croix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.