We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 restaurants in Frederiksted
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Eclectic Dining Beach Side or right on the Beach!
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“magical view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Super restaurant varied, breathtaking views, Suel little regret and service a little slow and the prices are correct.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    69
    33
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best ambiance, taste and people on St Croix.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I have been coming to St Croix for 11 years and am well versed in the restaraunt choices the island has to offer. I have grown used to mediocre food, slow service and few and everchanging choices year after year, satisfying but nothing special. The Beachside cafe at Sandcastle on the Beach resort is a breath of fresh air with a comprehensive menu and wonderful nightly specials that tantalize the tastebuds. I have eaten there the last 3 days sampling everything from breakfast to dessert and have yet to be even slightly dissapointed. The chicken cordon bleu sandwich for lunch was moist and had thick hand cut ham on it, banana rum french toast for brunch was on a croissant and featured fresh bananas and almonds, for dinner every evening was delicious but tonight was a special of seared steak tips on a bed of pasta with spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes and a delectable sauce topped with parmesan and blue cheese...the taste was phenomenal. My compliments to the chef. Now the armosphere is my dream, feet from the soft waves of the caribbean sea with blue waters and a sea breeze wafting over your table...you can not beat the ambiance and view ...only complimented by a libation from thier full bar. The service is also a joy with personable and well versed servers and owners. As for value the prices may be considered a bit more than some people want to spend but I assure you in this case you get what you pay for ten fold and personally I thought the pricing was spot on. Do yourself a favor and visit this wonderful gem on St Croix. I wish them the very best. KR

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Attempts to be above average but fails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The atmosphere is wonderful but the food is just so-so and overpriced. Menu is not very well balanced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on St Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Eating here is a must. Sunday Brunch is great, but any lunch or dinner is great. The cook will make the dish to whatever your taste is. I was looking for a vegetarian dish and he created a very tasty pasta dish for me. All the waitstaff is very helpful and attentive. Request to sit in Bruno's section and tell him that Floyd recommended you. He will make your meal experience unforgettable. If he isn't there, Kelly will also make sure your meal is great. The bartender makes some great drinks too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food on STX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am so pleased with the food that Chef Chad puts out, that I make a regular dining spot. It is one of the best restaurants on STX, if not THE best. Highlights are Chef's fish entrees, always fresh.
Wine Spectator rated wine list and consistent winner in the Taste of St. Croix.

I always tell them it is my birthday so I can hear Bruno sing to me.

Great spot for romance, family and especially for sunset. I hope you get to see the green flash.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;