We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the beach...what a VIEW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Side Cafe

Beach Side Cafe
127 Smithfield | Sand Castle on the Beach Hotel, Frederiksted, St. Croix
+1 340-772-1266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 restaurants in Frederiksted
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Eclectic Dining Beach Side or right on the Beach!
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lunch on the beach...what a VIEW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I were there with our daughter, son-in-law and their children 3 & 6. We were served by Natalie and it was her first day! The service was a little on the slow side but then it's "island time" and the over all pace of life is slow and easy. Natalie was attentive and, although they did not have booster chairs for our 3 YO granddaughter she retrieved a couple seat cushions to address the situation...it worked. The drinks were good and the food delicious...the fact you are just a few feet from the ocean doesn't hurt the ambiance either. If your going to St. Croix, this is a great choice for a true tropical paradise dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    69
    33
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed next door so needless to say the location was terrific for us, Elizabeth was the best as all of them, her humor made my evenings all the more enjoyable, Scott I believe was the best Bartender on the Island, and remembered my name like he knew me forever and made me feel so welcome, and Bruno ...well words cannot describe, but Awesome may give you a clue on his treatment of each table, now as for the food, not what I had expected but MORE! I have had fine dining in major cities and this was right up there, the Chief was very creative and all was yummmmmyyy!! the prices were no more than what I have paid where i live, and the View was everything. Thank you all and wish the Very Best for each of you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME & AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is connected to the hotel where we stayed and I'm truly happy that it was! The outside beachside setting had a beautiful view and the overall atmosphe was perfect for a delicious lunch or a romantic dinner. The staff were pleasant and knowledgable

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The setting.. is all worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the restaurant of the Sancastle on the Beach hotel, where we stayed for 5 days. This is low season for them, but the food, SO well prepared and made to order, always please us so! You can go all American (this is the USVIs after all) and have a great burger or, being more inventive, try their fried to perfection calamari or go with a more sophisticated tuna tartare. Pork chops are like butter and the rice, veggies and potatoes get an extra twist byb a very knowledgeable chef. Drinks are poured with love and the staff is ever so nice. It definitely doesn't hurt that you are dining or eating AT the beach, being the sea a mere 30 yards from you. Bring an insect repellent just in case and ask for sauces on the side, if you, like me, don't like a very good piece of food smothered into too much sweetness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best view of the sunset on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really loved everything about this restaurant. Great food--the lobster is bar none, the best I have ever tasted. The service is very attentive and accommodating.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix

Been to Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Side Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.