We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive as a guest, leave as family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Morales

Villa Morales
just outside of Frederiksted, Frederiksted, St. Croix
772-0556
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Frederiksted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Arrive as a guest, leave as family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Villa Morales! We arrived for an early dinner one day with ravenous appetites, as we were told that Villa Morales serves some of the very best local food on the entire island. Very best indeed!! My partner ordered Angie's conch in butter & garlic and it was incredible....just so tender and tasty and cooked to perfection! I had grilled Wahoo, which was also delicious, as well as Angie's conch chowder. Their portions were great and Angie's fusion of flavors in her cooking was superb. J.T. and Angie own Villa Morales. J.T. is the bartender, and a mighty good one at that. His mojitos are legendary! J.T. came by our table a couple of times to be sure we were satisfied, and even sat with us at one point to chat for a bit. When we left, he gave both of us huge hugs and thanked us for stopping by. We truly did arrive as guests and leave as family (or at least friends, but we sure felt like family!!)! We will definitely go back when we return. Villa Morales is open Thursday - Saturday, so be sure to remember than when planning your visit. Make sure you fit a meal here into your schedule!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Local Flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just returned from a week on the island. Dinner at Villa Morales was at least as good as some other restaurants that were twice the price. The waitress was very helpful-she warned us off of the fried fish and let us know some of the desserts were brought in. Our group had Mahi, goat, fried chicken and mussels and everyone enjoyed their entries. We had desserts made on the premises and these were good as well. We would return, especially if we were on the west side of the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic island food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our party tried the conch, goat and mahi. All the dishes were truly excellent. Such an excellent meal and its a small family run restaurant. Kudos - we are definitely returning again on this same trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“great food, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A little out of the way, but a very popular restaurant. Everyone on the island knows where it is so finding it shouldn't be hard. Make a reservation if you think it will be busy.
We've been there three times during our several vacations on the island. The first time was with a party of 12 and the service was so slow (>1 hour wait before the first food appeared) that we passed on going there again for a few years. Last two times it was much faster - but be prepared to wait for food at any restaurant on the island. People work slowly and are not in a rush. Consequently, whatever you order will be very very good eating.
Try the stewed goat. This isn't a typical meal in the US, but I've had it a few times in the Virgin Islands and it has always been very tender, tasty, and with a great sauce.
The conch is also great, but I have mixed feelings about divers grabbing these gems from the reefs for human consumption - they are getting rarer to spot if you spend much time underwater.
This is one of the more expensive places to eat in this area of the island, but it's great for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Real Mom and Pop Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

quiet little place off the beaten path. Authentic.Amazing conch in butter and whole red snapper They start cooking early in the week to be open Thurs, ,Fri. and Sat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Morales also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Villa Morales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Morales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.