We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Morales

Villa Morales
just outside of Frederiksted, Frederiksted, St. Croix
772-0556
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 restaurants in Frederiksted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
woodstock,ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were in search of some true Island cuisine and we found it at Villa Morales. Each of us got a different plate so that we could share and taste...and just everything was delicious! Jen our waitress was super cool and very helpful. JT and Anige the owners graciously came to our table and introduced themselves which made our night complete! How many owners and chefs come out to your table to ask how everything was? Not as many as one would like!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    25
    16
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food But Don't Forget the Mojitos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful food at reasonable prices close to Fredericksted. We had conch chowder, two types of conch and two types of goat. Each was delicious. Okay, the food is out of this world, but you've got to save room for the mojitos. By far, the best ever.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best Crucian food on St. Croix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you only go to one restaurant on St. Croix, this small local restaurant is the place to go for authentic Crucian food. The chef, Angie and her husband J.T. run this family operation on Thurs, Fri and Sat only so make sure that you plan accordingly. I had the conch chowder which was way different than the normal chowder one gets. It was in a brown fish based broth with chunks of conch and island vegetables. The Johnny cakes were warm, fresh and fluffy without being greasy. My roast goat was tender and spicy and complemented by the homemade hot sauce. My partners conch butter was the most tender that he or I had tasted, all without being flattened into non existance as it usually is prepared. This restaurant is unpretentious in the extreme and mostly patronized by locals who are in the know. For the experience and taste of authenticity which will not kill your budget this place is not to be missed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go find this little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Villa Morales is just off the "Center Line" of St Croix nearer to Frederiksted. It offers local quisine in a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Be adventurous but go early. You can't go wrong. I had 1/2 and 1/2 of the buttered conch and stewed conch with rice and beans. Delicious. The mussels as an appetizer were rich with garlic. Another winner. Make sure you ask for their Johnnycakes. You will remember this place for your next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, MT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The very best of St. Croix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Villa Morales has been my favorite restaurant on St. Croix since 1971! This is a restaurant with a family tradition that holds dear the flavors of St. Croix and the Caribbean. Angie and JT have a staff that is so friendly, you feel at home as soon as you enter the place. I love their fried chicken, have to have it at least once on my annual visit to St. Croix, don't miss the pates, the conch in butter sauce, tostones, fried ripe plantains, conch chowder, lechon (roast pork), and of course the staple beans and seasoned rice, and top it off with the best pina colada on the island. I guarantee you eat there once, and you will be hooked! By the way, they catered my wedding in October of 1972, if for some reason I have to pick a last meal, it will be Roast Pork, beans, rice, fried plantains, conch pate, and a pina colada from Villa Morales....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Morales also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Villa Morales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Morales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.