We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I agree with most of the other reviews, but ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holger Danske Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holger Danske Hotel to your Saves list
Holger Danske Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I agree with most of the other reviews, but ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

... Climbing 3 flights of stairs 2-3 times a day really got old. I also had constant electronic key problems during my stay, which didn't help my mood. The room was fine - hot water and cool a/c, and the downtown location was ideal. But there are stairs for every set of 3 units, so there is plenty of climbing. I was there for work, and that got really old. As a result, I don't really look forward to staying there again - but I might. Like others say - it does the job well -

btw, try Angry Nate's restaurant on premises for breakfast (especially). I really enjoyed that.

Room Tip: Request a room on floors 1 or 2 to avoid lots of stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffmerrill, Owner at Holger Danske Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again in a first floor room. Our first floor rooms are very comfortable and have a nice garden patio. We hope you will give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
15
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is similar to a 2 or 3 star European B&B. Not the cute kind or luxurious kind, but does the job. The breakfast though, is not included. Angry Nates is the restaurant attached on the water, but it is not included in your room price.
Rooms are clean and adequate, quiet, safe. And no, it does not pass the wife test. This would not be on her list of places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was the second year we visited STX for Ironman race. The previous year we had stayed in a condo in Gallows Bay,and though it was within walking distance of town there were some things that we did not like. I debated looking for another condo in the area where there lots of condos and though the prices were less than a hotel in town, I opted for the convenience of a central location. I was nervous that it might be too noisy but after talking to Arah and Yolando on the phone several times and reading other hotel reviews, they helped me choose the perfect two, adjacent rooms on the top floor, away from the restaurants on the boardwalk. The setting is charming with the buildings connected by paths with lovely flowering bushes. The rooms were not adjoining but we could easily go back and forth and each had its own balcony. Other reviews have mentioned that most rooms have views are of parking lot, but we could see the bay even though we were furthest from the water. I recommend rooms on top floors since they have higher beamed ceilings and we never heard anyone else. The pool was just down the path and upstairs. We rarely saw anyone else there and it was never crowded. Our rooms were very clean and we had plenty of towels etc. All the staff at the front desk and the maids were friendly and helpful, Huge thanks to Yolanda and Arah for all your help and patience with my questions. Eva was also very friendly and welcoming. I was delighted with my choice and will definitely stay here again. It was convenient to shopping and restaurants - see my reviews of Savant, Rum Runners, You Are Here, Galangal, EAT at Cane Bay, and Buccaneer - but especially great for race morning since it is short walk to transition. All in a all a perfect spot and I rated it five because it was everything we needed but some might not like the fact that there is no elevator and our rooms were on third floor. The five rating does not indicate that this is an upscale resort but we are not high maintenance so the fact that bathrooms are a bit outdated was ok - rating is based on location, cleanliness, friendly staff, and easy internet access. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: top/third floor if you don't mind no elevator and away from boardwalk if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I really enjoy staying here for work and if you are looking for a central spot to stay in Christiansted, this is IT! Very friendly staff and quaint, clean rooms right on the boardwalk; walking distance from many shops, restaurants, and even the seaplane base if you feel like adventuring over to St. Thomas. Nice hot showers too! The only minor issue would be that not all rooms have flat panel televisions and there is a bit of a shortage on electrical outlets, but these are minor inconveniences since the best parts of St. Croix are outside and in the water! Thanks Yolanda for being a joy to deal with every time I am here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A lot of effort has been made to make this hotel as nice and comfortable as possible with upgraded furniture and furnishings. It is located right on the boardwalk and waterfront of Christiansted. You are steps from restaurants, shops, the quaint old town, the national historic fort, seaplane dock, scuba dive boat, the $5 shuttle boat to the hotel beach on the island, the Buck Island tour boat and the fishing fleet. Walking through old town was interesting with many shops, but caution about so many steps and uneven sidewalks. This hotel is situated perpendicular to the boardwalk, therefore, there are only 2 rooms that actually face the water and those are 215 and 315. We stayed in 215 for a week and really enjoyed the covered balcony with nice furniture, stepping out our door to the pool deck and watching all the activities of the waterfront. The room was large with a comfortable king bed, nice and clean with title floors and a kitchenette. The two manageable problems were the kitchen noise from Angry Nate's restaurant below and the toilet which operated on island time. Each time we called down to Nate's and asked, they lowered the noise from the boom box and apologized. Their food was delicious and always offered fresh fish right from the boats on the dock. The maintenance man said, yes the toilet is slow. We did not drink the tap water because it comes from a rain cistern in which they add chlorine. Bottled water is for sale in many shops for $2 a gallon, recommended for drinking and coffee. If you don't wish to climb stairs, a ground level room would be nice. Any of the rooms in this hotel should be fine and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were great and very accommodating. The free Wifi worked great and stayed loaded which we appreciated because we kept our cell phones on Airplane mode to avoid roaming charges and communicated by email. The room phone has free local calls up to 30 min which is handy for calling a tour company, taxi or Nate's. This hotel does have nightly roaming security and we felt safe, but like anywhere don't leave valuables lying around and don't walk in dark alleyways at night. This room did have a safe. With so many things easily accessible we did not rent a car and preferred not to try driving on the left in an American car with the steering on the left. Instead we took Sweeny's Tour and the free shuttle on Tuesday to Divi Resort and Casino at Carina Bay in Rudy's Taxi. This was enjoyable and we had a lovely lunch by their pool beside a beautiful beach. The island bus is available for $2.50 and a great way to tour the island or go shopping with US dollars. The room frig did have a small freezer space so we had the taxi to stop, for an extra charge on the way from the airport,at Plaza Extra to purchase drinks and snacks. Taking the stairs down to Nate's for a lovely meal by the water or picking up take out to bring back to our balcony was wonderful. This was a relaxing enjoyable vacation at the Holger Danske Hotel, Christiansted, St Croix.

Room Tip: For waterfront view ask for # 215 or 315. If you do not want to take the stairs ask for a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went to St. Croix to visit their three national park units.
St. Croix is a lovely island, full of friendly people. Nowhere is this truer than at the Holger Danske Hotel. It is located right on the boardwalk, downtown. It's clean with all the amenities. If you don't get a room with a view, just go downstairs to the boardwalk and the view will be amazing.
The Holger Danske caters to groups of Danish visitors coming to see their history. So you can believe that everything works. And if something doesn't, they will fix it right away. Oh, and the price is very reasonable.
Now, if I can only find another reason to go back to St. Croix/

Room Tip: No need. Just go downstairs for an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjæreborg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel has a very good location if you plan on staying in Christianssted. It is very next to the harbour-walk with a few restaurants and shops. It has a pool looking over the harbour.
It provides free parking but without a car/taxi etc. there is not much to see or do in Christianssted.
The rooms have a small balcony but the rooms look quite dated and old. A small renovation would easily give 4 stars.
But i would recommend the hotel if you stay in Christianssted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Address: 1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holger Danske Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.