We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Great Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holger Danske Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holger Danske Hotel to your Saves list
Holger Danske Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place - Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love to travel, and would rather spend money on experiences than hotel rooms. I look for clean, safe and convenient, preferably all with a great price. The Holger Danske provided it all. The rooms were comfortable, the ladies at the front desk were helpful and kind, the cleaning lady was there everyday to tidy up, and it was a perfect base from which to launch our adventures. Stepping outside our door, we saw every beautiful plant and tree that grew on the island lining the path. I'd happily stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
17
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Recently stayed in the Holger Danske in Christiansted for 4 nights. Booked a King Bed room and was given the ground floor room #108. We enjoyed the privacy of the closed-in patio as opposed to the open ones on the upper floors. The only rooms with a good, unobstructed Harbour View are #215 and #315. We didn't mind not having a view inasmuch as we were only a few steps from being on the Boardwalk. There is no elevator on the premises so the ground floor room was a blessing to these senior citizens. Room was very clean and everything worked well except the Internet. We were given a small router for the room but could never get it to work. Others were having the same problem while we were there. We were able to access the internet on our IPad from the Hotel Lobby. Did not experience water pressure problems that precious reviewers had mentioned. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Beware of mosquitoes on the Boardwalk at dusk. They are ferocious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our room was on the third floor, with a vaulted ceiling. Very clean with good beds and TV, nice balcony, which, while it did not have a view, had two reclining chairs and a table. In the room was a dining table with two chairs as well as a functioning stove and refrigerator! We loved the room. The parking lot was very small and hard to park in. The rooms are along a path leading away from the water from, with three stories, and two rooms on each level at each different entry and stairway...This did make one feel a little isolated at times and apprehensive about security, but we had no problems and loves our room and its proximity to the boardwalk and restaurants. Liked Angy Nates, the restaurant associated with this property. There is also a nice pool and roof deck for hotel guests. So, overall, we were very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: I like the third floor, if you are willing and able to carry your luggage up those flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugarloaf
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

There isn't much to see or do in St. Croix but if you are going you must stay in Christiansted next to the waterfront. There are only four hotels on this front and this is one of them. The staff is
great, nice rooms, reasonable prices considering the location, nice pool, and right on the boardwalk. Also, you can take the seaplane almost outside of your room. Loved to walk the boardwalk and sit on the benches watching the people walk by, enjoying the beautiful view. I highly recommend this hotel. I did not eat at any of the restaurants on the boardwalk as I like to eat where the locals go. Found a great place for breakfast on Company Street called the Twin City Cafe. Had spiced oatmeal, fresh squeezed orange juice, then back for lunch for a three salad combo. Open from 7 to 3, one block directly up from the fort.

As to getting there from the airport rather than take a taxi for $20 I hitchhiked a ride to the local
bus stop and took a local bus to the hotel for $2. Since I took the seaplane from the boardwalk
I didn't have to go back to the airport. There is little to do in Christiansted except relax and enjoy the beautiful harbor. Of course, there are snorkeling and boating trips but I snorkeled in Bonaire so didn't go here.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upper room for the fresh air. Make sure the room does not face another wall. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Georges Caye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed 4 nights on business.
Room (one king) and bed adequate. No problems sleeping. However if you are a late riser be aware that the local cockerels like to welcome the dawn.
Water pressure abysmal....have to dance around in the shower to get wet. I believe this problem is not exclusive to this hotel.
Air conditioning good.
Refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine, all OK
Room had a good size balcony with table & two chairs. Ground floor room - no view, however the balcony was "fenced' in with pleasant shrubery. Fine for sitting outside in the evening with a cocktail.
Internet, wired or wireless was terrible and intermittent.
Location of the hotel is excellent if you don't need a sea view, and the boardwalk with all the tourist stuff (and indeed the whole of Christiansted) is easily walkable.
On the boardwalk attached to the hotel is "Angry Nates" restaurant and bar. I ate and drank there frequently, breakfast lunch and dinner. As good as any and better than most on the boardwalk. Friendy staff and live music most evenings which can be quite good.
If you are a (tobacco exclusively) smoker, then the island of St. Croix may not be the place for your next vacation unless you are trying to quit!
Overall, this is a reasonably priced hotel in Christansted and I will stay there again when next visiting - hope they have sorted out the internet by then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great located right down to the quay where exotic fish and small sharks swam rounded. Good large rooms, good service. Wonderful to be able to walk right out of the room and into the restaurant when you where you could eat delicious breakfast or excellent good dinner. In evenings in the restaurent there were musical entertainment several nights, Great Jazz and folk music.

Only a few details could be better.

You can use the computer at the front desk for free, but it is very slow. They offer wi-fi but it's slowl or simpely fails. Someone began road close to the hotel several mornings from 5-6 pm, but it was not the hotel's fault. The water in the shower is slow to warm up, but it works. There is no safe in the rooms, so you have to use the ones in the front desk. But if you can live with that i can warmly recommend the place for singels, couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Holger during the first week of December while looking for a long term rental on St Croix. First room I received was being colonized by an army of sugar ants. The front desk staff were great and gave me another room immediately. Street construction was ongoing during my entire stay, so it was an adventure getting to and from my work location to the hotel. I am really grateful that there were numerous bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. All the staff were friendly, but from I could tell this is a favorite spot for the Danish Tourist. Breakfast is served in Angry Nates bar but get there early or you will be waiting for quite awhile. Overall I would stay there again if need arises, but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#12 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Address: 1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holger Danske Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.