We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, old and no frills.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holger Danske Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holger Danske Hotel to your Saves list
Holger Danske Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dirty, old and no frills.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

As previous posters said, only 2 of the rooms have any views what so ever. Looking at parking lots on both sides. On to the room... The room was dirty and old. 0 maintenence put into the rooms. Stained ceilings and walls, etc. Friendly bugs in your bed. I think they put a flat screen TV in it to make it look updated. The bathroom was gross. Take a look at the pictures, Overall not a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, request 215 or 315. They are the only 2 rooms with water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
17
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

There were four female family members traveling, one who is a senior citizen. Because there are no elevators, we requested a ground floor room which was granted. On our first day the maid service came knocking at 8:15am to service the room. We were taking advantage of being on vacation and did not expect to get up until at least 9:00am. The housekeeper informed us to make sure to put up the "Do not disturb" sign each morning so as not to be disturbed, which we made sure to do thereafter. The room was always clean when we came back in the evening and the only problem we experienced was that a couple of nights there were not enough wash cloths and towels and I had to walk to the front desk to get them. This hotel is in the heart of the town and on the harbor, so we were able to walk to the historic sites. If you want to go to the beach, you have to take the ferry to the other side. We have family members who live there, so going to the beach was not a problem. I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is a hotel, not a resort, so be fair people! We loved our stay, Newly remodeled room on the first floor. Great and very quiet a/c, lots of hot water, free Internet and free parking. Our large room had a fridge and a microwave, comfy bed, even a small lanai! The hotel has a nice bar/restaurant, and the next place over is Rum Runners! This is on the Boardwalk, and a few steps to our dive boat each day! For those that want to enjoy the resort village that is nestled right in - five minute walk (or less) and you are there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Holger Danske was built with a foundation poured 180 degrees in the WRONG DIRECTION! As such, all the balconies, rather than facing the water, face the parking lots and streets behind the hotel (which included its share of barking dogs)! If we did it again, we would find better and more appropriate accomodations.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

At best, I can only give the HD a mixed review.
First, the good news. Its location is excellent: on the waterfront. However, unless you are fortunate enough to stay in Room 315 (which we did) of Room 215, your view will be that of a parking lot, not the waterfront. Room 315 has a wonderful view. The large, private balcony overlooks the harbor and the boatslip where fishermen wash and slice their catch of the day. Some of these unlucky sea creatures (incl lobster) may be brought into the aptly-named Angry Nate's cafe and bar which is located on the ground floor of the hotel but independently operated. Angry Nate's is staffed by a motley crew of middle-aged males who energeticallhy bound from table to table, providing a certain type of reply to customer requests. The reader can decide whether they will enjoy this sort of repartee while attem;pting a peaceful, restful vacation -- or not.

Back to Room 315 with its beautiful view...and the problematic bathroom plumbing. We probably could have lived with a shower which never did produce warm water, if it were not for the toilet which refused to flush properly. We sincerely regret leaving housekeeping staff such an unwlecome sight to deal with. At least it did not overflow.

Our final night was on a Saturday, when live music from an adjacent club kept us awake til 3 a.m. Maybe some readers would enjoy being there; we didn't. We weer prepared to deal with that by sleeping in late (see, we really were trying to be flexible), however, we were awakened at 6:30 a.m. Sunday by an extremely loud power generator of some sort, which was located on the roof of the hotel and which was continuing to "generate" when we left, with relief, a few hours later.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The first room they gave us had a bad AC, and the second room's internet didn't work. However, once we went to the third room, everything was great, AC and Internet included! The free internet was nice, and the TV had lots of stations (for the VI, at least). Free local and 800 calls was a plus, since we were able to use our calling card with no connection charge.
The location of the hotel is nice, too, since it's right on the boardwalk, near several restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have been visiting this place since 2004 but it has changed hands and the atmosphere also has changed. There is a definite resentment towards visitors from U.S. and whereas before a very friendly Crucian influence was evident, that has now gone away.
They are militant and argumentative. So much so that we stayed 1 night - a never to be repeated experience - and moved to The Company Hotel which was very pleasant and just a few minutes away. We cut out visit from 2 weeks to 3 days and were glad to leave St. Croix and dont expect to return again. Weather was unseasonably cool so we couldnt snorkel or even go in the water. Much too cold and windy. There is a big Rastafarian influence in the island now, similar to Jamaica.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#12 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Address: 1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holger Danske Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.