We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holger Danske Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holger Danske Hotel to your Saves list
Holger Danske Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We would go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

There were four female family members traveling, one who is a senior citizen. Because there are no elevators, we requested a ground floor room which was granted. On our first day the maid service came knocking at 8:15am to service the room. We were taking advantage of being on vacation and did not expect to get up until at least 9:00am. The housekeeper informed us to make sure to put up the "Do not disturb" sign each morning so as not to be disturbed, which we made sure to do thereafter. The room was always clean when we came back in the evening and the only problem we experienced was that a couple of nights there were not enough wash cloths and towels and I had to walk to the front desk to get them. This hotel is in the heart of the town and on the harbor, so we were able to walk to the historic sites. If you want to go to the beach, you have to take the ferry to the other side. We have family members who live there, so going to the beach was not a problem. I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toots1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is a hotel, not a resort, so be fair people! We loved our stay, Newly remodeled room on the first floor. Great and very quiet a/c, lots of hot water, free Internet and free parking. Our large room had a fridge and a microwave, comfy bed, even a small lanai! The hotel has a nice bar/restaurant, and the next place over is Rum Runners! This is on the Boardwalk, and a few steps to our dive boat each day! For those that want to enjoy the resort village that is nestled right in - five minute walk (or less) and you are there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScubaProSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Holger Danske was built with a foundation poured 180 degrees in the WRONG DIRECTION! As such, all the balconies, rather than facing the water, face the parking lots and streets behind the hotel (which included its share of barking dogs)! If we did it again, we would find better and more appropriate accomodations.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fredbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

At best, I can only give the HD a mixed review.
First, the good news. Its location is excellent: on the waterfront. However, unless you are fortunate enough to stay in Room 315 (which we did) of Room 215, your view will be that of a parking lot, not the waterfront. Room 315 has a wonderful view. The large, private balcony overlooks the harbor and the boatslip where fishermen wash and slice their catch of the day. Some of these unlucky sea creatures (incl lobster) may be brought into the aptly-named Angry Nate's cafe and bar which is located on the ground floor of the hotel but independently operated. Angry Nate's is staffed by a motley crew of middle-aged males who energeticallhy bound from table to table, providing a certain type of reply to customer requests. The reader can decide whether they will enjoy this sort of repartee while attem;pting a peaceful, restful vacation -- or not.

Back to Room 315 with its beautiful view...and the problematic bathroom plumbing. We probably could have lived with a shower which never did produce warm water, if it were not for the toilet which refused to flush properly. We sincerely regret leaving housekeeping staff such an unwlecome sight to deal with. At least it did not overflow.

Our final night was on a Saturday, when live music from an adjacent club kept us awake til 3 a.m. Maybe some readers would enjoy being there; we didn't. We weer prepared to deal with that by sleeping in late (see, we really were trying to be flexible), however, we were awakened at 6:30 a.m. Sunday by an extremely loud power generator of some sort, which was located on the roof of the hotel and which was continuing to "generate" when we left, with relief, a few hours later.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The first room they gave us had a bad AC, and the second room's internet didn't work. However, once we went to the third room, everything was great, AC and Internet included! The free internet was nice, and the TV had lots of stations (for the VI, at least). Free local and 800 calls was a plus, since we were able to use our calling card with no connection charge.
The location of the hotel is nice, too, since it's right on the boardwalk, near several restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsaroundUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have been visiting this place since 2004 but it has changed hands and the atmosphere also has changed. There is a definite resentment towards visitors from U.S. and whereas before a very friendly Crucian influence was evident, that has now gone away.
They are militant and argumentative. So much so that we stayed 1 night - a never to be repeated experience - and moved to The Company Hotel which was very pleasant and just a few minutes away. We cut out visit from 2 weeks to 3 days and were glad to leave St. Croix and dont expect to return again. Weather was unseasonably cool so we couldnt snorkel or even go in the water. Much too cold and windy. There is a big Rastafarian influence in the island now, similar to Jamaica.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.2 mi away
Company House Hotel
Company House Hotel
#16 of 16 in Christiansted
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holger Danske Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holger Danske Hotel

Address: 1200 King Cross Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Holger Danske Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at old world prices, located in the heart of Christiansted and directly on the water, featuring a freshwater pool and resturant overlooking the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holger Danske Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holger Danske Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing