We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food, the music.....a wonderful evening at Salud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salud Bistro

Salud Bistro
Bay #1 Princess Plaza | Northside Rd Route 75, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
340-718-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 67 restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Your hidden gem on St. Croix. Mediterranean-inspired bistro cuisine, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and revolutionary cocktails. Cozy bistro ambience, airconditioned, with plenty of parking in a convenient mid-island location. Named St. Croix's #1 Dining Destination!
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“The food, the music.....a wonderful evening at Salud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Knowing that Tuesday evening is music night (thanks Trip Advisor), we made a reservation. Have to admit that when the taxi driver dropped us off, we were incredulous that this could be the right place. But as we entered the restaurant, the smells, the music, and the welcoming faces assured us that we were exactly where we needed to be.
Incredible choice of appetizers, along with an extensive wine list.
I had the mahi, my wife the ribeye - both considered one of the "best meals ever". The service was friendly and attentive. The space charming.
The prices are high but the norm for fine dining on the island. A little quibble- we were both charged an extra $4 for substituting vegetables instead of the accompanying starch - not told ahead of time, it seemed a bit over the top.
But, what we will remember about this evening is the food, the wine, and the beautiful music.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    86
    22
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right There at the Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

When you drive up you wonder - will this be any good - but step inside and your transported into a cozy, intimate restaurant. Recommend reservations as this place is good and popular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another delicious meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The food here was very good and the waiter was friendly and knowledgable. The location is not the best, but the interior is very lovely. The food (including dessert) and wines made up for the shabby building. One of our favorite meals on St Croix!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind on St Croix.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

There is something for everyone here with fresh meat and cheese platters, set entrees and daily specials. Lots of live music and friendly staff make it a great place to go out for tapas or dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flew 4,000 miles for the best Ribeye I've Tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

WoW! My wife & I just visited the Salud Bistro for the second time in a week. The steak was so tender I really could cut it with my fork! Flavor... Outstanding! And, the garlic mashed potatoes the best I have tasted! The wait staff were very professional, knowledgeable of the menu and friendly! A must visit restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Bistro also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Salud Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salud Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.