We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad bistro experience in St Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salud Bistro

Salud Bistro
Bay #1 Princess Plaza | Northside Rd Route 75, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
340-718-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 66 restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Your hidden gem on St. Croix. Mediterranean-inspired bistro cuisine, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and revolutionary cocktails. Cozy bistro ambience, airconditioned, with plenty of parking in a convenient mid-island location. Named St. Croix's #1 Dining Destination!
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Salad bistro experience in St Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner there. The staff was very accommodating and the owner was there to explain the wonderful wine selection to accompany our meal. We had a great discussion with him about his home in Italy. Wonderful place would highly recommend if you get a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    85
    22
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Still, sparkling or tap? 2 bottles of tap water will cost $12.00.
The food was ok though it would have been nice to actually see what I was eating but I couldn't because the restaurant was so, so dim. I can appreciate some mood lighting but not when it appears to make my dinner look like a plate of dark mush.
The dinner portions were a laugh, definately not worth the amount of $$ they charge.
Our $9 desert was nothing more then a small, muffin sized cake drizzled w sour cherries.
On an end note, when describing menu items please stop describing everything as "yummy deliciosness" it doesn't make the food sound, taste or look any better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth trip from Cane Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Saw review in Trip Advisor and decided to try. Mussels overcooked and over-seasoned. Fresh baked foccacio was good with variety of dips. Chicken entree was so-so. Our friend's lamb dish over rice was so overcooked/burnt, it was discounted. Why serve it?
Our server was impatient and bossy.
Eat @Cane Bay and Rowdy Joe's restaurants are much better value and experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excessively Loud with Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very is appointed by our visit. Went with a friend who has a vacation condo nearby and has lays had great meals here. Our first disappointment was when we were informed they did not have a fish of the day. An island restaurant it hour a fish option? Really? Even if they couldn't personally catch the fish, no one on the island had fresh fish? There's no fish market?

Of what we did order, the crab cakes were amazing, the pork chops so-so and the steak was bland and had been sitting a while before being served. Perhaps they just had an off night as my friend was surprised the food wasn't as good as previous visits?

But what really brought the points on was the excessive noise. There were two large tables seated and the people had to shout at each other to be heard. Way too many hard surfaces made or a horrible echo. They need some area rugs or wall hangings or something to absorb some of that racket!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much to look at but the food was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You have to look for this restaurant in a strip of buildings. Several locals recommended it and it really was a wonderful meal. Kudos to the chef!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Bistro also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Salud Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salud Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.