We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad bistro experience in St Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salud Bistro

Salud Bistro
Bay #1 Princess Plaza | Northside Rd Route 75, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
340-718-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 88 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Your hidden gem on St. Croix. Mediterranean-inspired bistro cuisine, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and revolutionary cocktails. Cozy bistro ambience, airconditioned, with plenty of parking in a convenient mid-island location. Named St. Croix's #1 Dining Destination!
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salad bistro experience in St Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner there. The staff was very accommodating and the owner was there to explain the wonderful wine selection to accompany our meal. We had a great discussion with him about his home in Italy. Wonderful place would highly recommend if you get a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Still, sparkling or tap? 2 bottles of tap water will cost $12.00.
The food was ok though it would have been nice to actually see what I was eating but I couldn't because the restaurant was so, so dim. I can appreciate some mood lighting but not when it appears to make my dinner look like a plate of dark mush.
The dinner portions were a laugh, definately not worth the amount of $$ they charge.
Our $9 desert was nothing more then a small, muffin sized cake drizzled w sour cherries.
On an end note, when describing menu items please stop describing everything as "yummy deliciosness" it doesn't make the food sound, taste or look any better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Venessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth trip from Cane Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Saw review in Trip Advisor and decided to try. Mussels overcooked and over-seasoned. Fresh baked foccacio was good with variety of dips. Chicken entree was so-so. Our friend's lamb dish over rice was so overcooked/burnt, it was discounted. Why serve it?
Our server was impatient and bossy.
Eat @Cane Bay and Rowdy Joe's restaurants are much better value and experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois_Ottobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excessively Loud with Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very is appointed by our visit. Went with a friend who has a vacation condo nearby and has lays had great meals here. Our first disappointment was when we were informed they did not have a fish of the day. An island restaurant it hour a fish option? Really? Even if they couldn't personally catch the fish, no one on the island had fresh fish? There's no fish market?

Of what we did order, the crab cakes were amazing, the pork chops so-so and the steak was bland and had been sitting a while before being served. Perhaps they just had an off night as my friend was surprised the food wasn't as good as previous visits?

But what really brought the points on was the excessive noise. There were two large tables seated and the people had to shout at each other to be heard. Way too many hard surfaces made or a horrible echo. They need some area rugs or wall hangings or something to absorb some of that racket!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not much to look at but the food was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You have to look for this restaurant in a strip of buildings. Several locals recommended it and it really was a wonderful meal. Kudos to the chef!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Bistro also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Salud Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing