We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mac and cheese with Truffles is awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salud Bistro

Salud Bistro
Bay #1 Princess Plaza | Northside Rd Route 75, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
340-718-7900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Your hidden gem on St. Croix. Mediterranean-inspired bistro cuisine, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and revolutionary cocktails. Cozy bistro ambience, airconditioned, with plenty of parking in a convenient mid-island location. Named St. Croix's #1 Dining Destination!
Tanya0810
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Mac and cheese with Truffles is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Going back tonight for another round!
Don't get scared by the location which is by route 75 on a small strip mall. Decor is just fine, nothing to write about but the service and food are very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    86
    22
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming, United States
1 review
“Great food and great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I came to salud the first night of our vacation and we had a great time in fact we went back later that week. The food was amazing, we sat at the bar and really enjoyed getting to chat with the wait staff and other people at the bar. The muscles and lobster bisque were wonderful, and the wine selection was great. It was an amazing way to start our vacation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is small but it is packed with delightful surprises. The interior is warm and inviting (so don't be put off by the outside of the building), wait staff are friendly and helpful, the menu is absolutely gourmet and the food is both fabulously presented and delicious.

We had dinner there twice. The second time we took out a couple we met while on vacation in VI and were surprised by live music. On Tuesdays they have a special where it's two bottles of wine for the price of one!

Menu items change often, so we were told, but everything we had from appetizer to main meal was wonderful. And the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I dined here on Christmas Eve and it was the best meal we had on St. Croix. Interesting food and good wine. The flourless chocolate cake was like eating a fine piece of chocolate. The lobster bisque was excellent. Good job!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious, flavorful food in an ambient setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been traveling to St. Croix for many years and had heard about Salud, but never stopped in to check out the food. Do not be discouraged by the mall-type setting. This place serves grade-A food that is inventive, flavorful and memorable. We started with the grilled calamari served in an Asian style broth with vegetables--spicy and delightful! We also had a butter lettuce salad with gorgonzola and a raspberry vinaigrette--refreshing and tasty! My main course was a well-seasoned sliced steak with the most amazing potato casserole. Of course, they also have a full bar, fine wines and many speciality drinks. My only complaint was the service. We asked for small plates to share our first course and these were never brought. It also would have been nice to have had a spoon for the calamari so as to taste the broth. Otherwise, a terrific dining experience. Will eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salud Bistro also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Salud Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salud Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.