We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River to your Saves list
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place is homely and the management and staff like family. It is very quite and suitable for writers. I was there on business and so it was ideal for work. If you athletic and like taking your early morning walk/jog then this property is ideal as it is situated near the coastline.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
35
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went here after leaving the Hibiscus, and was pleasantly surprised. It is a very nice place. The owners are incredibly sweet, and go out of their way to help you. It is very clean and has a view. Breakfast is great made on the spot, whatever you want. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you're going to St. Croix you will not find a better spot to stay than the Arawak Inn. On the advice of a friend I booked a room for two nights at this beautifully appointed home-like bed and (wonderful) breakfast. I add my praise of Jennifer and Lionel, who designed, built and operate this treasure. Large, well furnished rooms each opening out to a beautiful veranda facing the sea on the north shore of the island. I will return next year for a longer stay. I've been home for a month now and can still feel the warmth of my short visit. You will not be sorry you booked here.

Toni C. Chicago , Il

Room Tip: I was on the second floor with a great view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Arawak for only 2 nights. We truly enjoyed the quiet and peaceful nights of rest and the beautiful views during the day. Jennifer and her staff are so friendly. They are very accommodating and hospitable hosts that catered to our every need. We are very grateful that Jennifer took some time out of her busy day to escort us on a hike to the Tidal Pools. It was very exhilarating and so beautiful. It was definitely off the beaten path. We would highly recommend Arawak to anyone looking for some real R & R.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Jennifer and Lionel are amazing. So kind and hospitable. Lionel's breakfast is phenomenal and Jennifer's hospitality is topped by no other. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you need. Convenient location on the North Shore.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Jane and I spent a week at this lovely inn on north shore near the Salt River Estuary. It's a quiet spot on St Croix with a great seaview. Hosts Jennifer and Lionel were extremely friendly and consistently aimed for every guest to have an excellent stay. The breakfasts were varied and always excellent. The pool was well maintained and welcoming after a day of touring and whatnot. We chose this place to stay because of its excellent reviews and their excellent rates. If I have used 'excellent' too many times in this review, sorry. That's the way we feel about Arawak Bay Inn. It's excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is our second time here, and we love it....Jennifer and Lionel are wonderful, breakfast is great and the rooms are nice , a very good buy for the money. As before, they are anxious to help in any way, so you really get the feel of being in someone's home rather than at an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Address: 62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawak Bay Inn offers a charming and relaxing experience on St. Croix's north shore. Each of its 14 rooms offer sweeping views of the Salt River Bay, and Caribbean Sea. This affordable B&B is 15 minutes from downtown Christiansted, and 5 minutes from the water sports activities of the St. Croix marina and Cane Bay. The Caribbean style continental breakfast ensures an island experience as you stay connected via wireless high speed Internet and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.