We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and Wonderful People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River to your Saves list
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Monroe, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and Wonderful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here with a large group of people. Jennifer and Lionel are wonderful people and wonderful hosts. They are always willing to stop and chat no matter how busy it was. The inn is away from hustle and bustle which, if you would rather not drive is a problem. This place is a gem in the hills. Jennifer and Lionel are great cooks, but if you are looking for a night out can give you the run down of the local eats. There is a beach, kayak rental, and bar in a 15 minute walking distance. The rooms are spacious (even the double occupancy ones) and the cleaning staff where excellent as well. The view from the upstairs balcony is gorgeous as well. I plan on returning whenever I can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
35
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The Arawak is amazing. Jennifer and Lionel went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Not only did they cook great food for us, they helped accommodate our stay by helping us plan events and even accompanied us to various locations. I would never stay anywhere else. I highly recommend a stay here of you really want to experience the culture of St. Croix. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week in January. Everything about the place is exceptional: the rooms are spacious and very clean; the breakfasts are varied, hearty and good; the view toward the sea is lovely; the location, on the north shore west of Christiansted, is close to beaches, diving and snorkeling, and good restaurants (in particular Rowdy Joe's, one of the island's best) but is still quiet and secluded. There is a pretty pool and cabana area on the property where one can relax, read in the morning, or eat a takeout dinner when you don't feel like going to a restaurant.

But most important and best are the hosts. Jennifer and Lionel both obviously enjoy what they do. They are friendly, helpful, and very knowledgable about St. Croix. Jennifer takes early (5 or 6 o'clock) morning walks up into the mountains and is happy to take a guest along. My wife has a gluten allergy, and each morning either Lionel or Jennifer prepared something special- and delicious- for her. Altogether, they are gracious hosts and we left having been treated both like special guests and good friends.

I give the Inn at Arawak Bay my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first visit to St. Croix. We came to visit our son and daughter in law. Jennifer and Lionel are outstanding hosts!! The room was great! View from balcony was of the ocean! Constant breeze!
Breakfast was always good. Jennifer and Lionel changed up the menu each morning. Of course you could order what you wanted, but why. The location is ideal. Only about 10 minutes from Cane Bay Dive Shop and about 35 or so minutes from the airport.
Christiansted & Fredricksted are easy drives from the Inn. There is an outside pool and bar also.
Our time was short, however when we do return we will definately contact Jennifer & Lionel for another great St. Croix lodging experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was my first visit to St. Croix and it was one of the best vacations I have had in years. My daughter and I plan to make this an annual trip. The owners, Jennifer and Lionel were gracious hosts who were helpful with everything we needed. Cleanliness, honesty and comfort is a top priority at Arawak. This is a lovely, quiet part of the island and the rooms have spectacular views and it's safe. It's close to the beach and if you want a good workout try walking up 'The Scenic Road' or go kayaking where you will get a history lesson and have fun too. I HIGHLY recommend Arawak Bay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and higher floors have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

What an absolutely fantastic experience I had staying at the Arawak Inn! The room was immaculate, the beds were so comfortable, and the view of the ocean from the 2nd floor balcony was truly amazing! Arawak’s location on the Island is PERFECT, meaning, it is secluded for privacy and is very peaceful so you can rest BUT it is close to EVRYTHNG St. Croix has to offer; scuba, horseback riding, ocean kayaking, the bioluminescence bay, national parks, the beaches, cultural locations, farmers market, snorkeling, hiking the rain forest, charter boats, restaurants/bars and the shopping. Only a ten minute ride from the airport too! Bring your appetite because they cook up a TON of food for breakfast and it is AWESOME!! If you are into wildlife and birds Arawak’s beautiful flowering landscape that surrounds the building allows you to see a variety of species without ever leaving the porch! While drinking the most delicious cup of coffee made by Jennifer every morning and sitting on the front porch watching the sunrise over the ocean I saw Mongoose, Anole, Green Iguana, Scaly-Naped Pigeon, White-Wing Dove, Antillean Crested Hummingbird, Loggerhead Kingbird, Pearly-Eyed Thrasher, Connecticut Warbler, Bananaquit, Black-Faced Grassquit, Little-Blue Heron, Cattle Egret, Lesser Antillean Bullfinch, and American Kestrel! A wildlife watcher’s dream morning –every morning at Arawak!! But without a doubt, it was the owners of Arawak, Jennifer and Lionel, that make this place extremely exceptional! In all my travels I have never experienced the type of amazing hospitably that these folks provided. I have never met as friendly, generous, accommodating and knowledgeable owner of an inn as I did with Jennifer! If you had a question or needed something and she did not have it (which was rare) –by the end of the day she had it for you. She spoke to you and treated you as one of her family. In fact , I had only stayed 7 days there but at the end of my stay I felt like I knew this women for years and was an old friend. I felt like a part of her family when I left and feel I have a new friend for life in Jennifer! Jennifer and Lionel are very well liked and known on the island and have many contacts that proved extremely valuable for obtaining information on where to go, what to do and even got my group access to places that the typical traveler would never know to go (like hidden waterfalls in the rainforest or tidal pools). Politicians, cultural experts, natural resource and wildlife experts, University and research staff, local farmers, restaurant owners, education and recreational entities, Jennifer knew them ALL (and by first name)! This was truly a trip I will never forget and it was all because of the fine people and accommodations at the Arawak Inn!!!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has the best view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, null, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My stay was for two weeks at Arawak Bay @ Salt River. After the second day, your appetite for breakfast becomes larger than ever before. The beds were of top quality, as well as the view and cleanliness. Wouldn't choose anywhere else to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Address: 62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawak Bay Inn offers a charming and relaxing experience on St. Croix's north shore. Each of its 14 rooms offer sweeping views of the Salt River Bay, and Caribbean Sea. This affordable B&B is 15 minutes from downtown Christiansted, and 5 minutes from the water sports activities of the St. Croix marina and Cane Bay. The Caribbean style continental breakfast ensures an island experience as you stay connected via wireless high speed Internet and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.