We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River to your Saves list
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watsonville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owners were friendly and accommodating (vegan). They prepared delicious special meals for us to meet our dietary restrictions. The hotel was clean and the view from our room breathtaking! We had a rental car which was useful for traveling around and getting back. We had a pleasant and relaxing stay. If we were to come back to Saint Croix, we would most definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Second floor with veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
38
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very comfortable place with a honor system kitchen bar and the same at the BBQ bar with gas BBQ to be used by all the guest. Room was clean dally special attention was place on the bathrooms. Delicious breakfast were cook dally by Lionel specially an excellent coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister & I had such a terrific weekend enjoying St Croix during AgFair this February. Staying at Arawk Inn was a such a treat and so enhanced our stay. Lionel and Jennifer are not only gracious hosts but very helpful and friendly. Being from St John we enjoyed conversations with them about island "tings". The breakfasts were delicious and many choices were available. Our room was spacious, CLEAN, and we enjoyed our view while sitting on porch. Looking forward to going back next year. Louise & Marcy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

WOW!!!!!!!! Where can I start. Flew to St. Croix to attend an Acuaponics Workshop @UVI... Showed up at Arawak Bay Inn at Salt Water without a reservation in a small island to see what could I get. Stayed 5 days/4 nights and it will be an unforgettable trip. From the time we showed up, we were kindly received by Tony and Nahim, who immediately made us feel like they knew us all of our lives. We felt we were at our own B & B but to another level. Cute pool, nice grill (thanks Lionel... The Tilapia was AMAZING!!!), meticulously clean bathrooms, hallways, living room and facilities. Also, had the best breakfast for 5 days-in-a-row that I've had in my entire life, thanks to Lionel and his above-and-beyond cooking skills. Slept like a baby in the soooo comfortable and clean-smell beds... Jennifer and Lionel will definitely make a short trip, honeymoon or vacation a memorable one for years to come. if you call in advance, they will come and get you at the airport. Arawak Bay Inn @ Salt River; romantic, quiet, inmaculate cleaness, inspiring and full of love and warmness...

Thanks you very much for an above-and-beyond service better than many 4 & 5 star hotels!!!

Room Tip: Room 16 is in the corner and you can come and go as you please and never get bothered or bother anyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I visited St. Croix for a Study Abroad program and we stayed at the Arawak Bay Inn. Our trip would have never been such a great visit without the two owners, Jennifer and Lionel. The Inn is very clean, quiet and has a great view of the water. All the breakfast that they provided for us were homemade and delicious. I didn't want to leave; if I was to go to St. Croix again this would be the place I would stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My second stay at Arawak Bay Inn. It is a genuine B&B, owned and operated by two wonderful people. The staff, too, is friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, almost too big for one person. It was clean and well furnished. The breakfasts are a highlight. Lots of variety and plenty to eat before a long day of diving. Very convenient to Salt River Marina and Anchor Dive Center. Also convenient to all the wonderful restaurants on St. Croix's north shore and the great beach at Cane Bay.

I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

B&Bs are difficult to evaluate. We were at the Arawak Inn at Salt River for less than twenty-four hours. But a number of things stood out. The Inn is clean, spacious, and comfortable. I believe that it only has fourteen guest rooms and is appropriately quiet. Romantic? In a West Indian sort of way … a glass of wine on the porch as the sun goes down is nice. With a little bit of luck, you'll be able to see the lights come on in St Thomas.
The Inn is a bargain. With inflated seasonal prices for lodging, it is a relief to the credit card account. As usual, the fee includes breakfast … the waffles were wonderful, the coffee had a hint of cinnamon … or was it cardamom? Our room was equipped with a king bed with a very comfortable duvet. Cognitive dissonance? A massager-recliner right out of a Brookstone catalog.
There is a small pool and an honor bar. Most importantly, the proprietors, Jennifer and Lionel, are two of the nicest and accommodating people you can meet. B&B's are notoriously difficult to manage because of the necessarily small staff and myriad things to do and I sincerely wish Lionel and Jennifer great success and gratification in this venture.\\
Nearby, there are some interesting dining venues: don't be put off by the curb appeal of Rowdy Joes - excellent food; Off-the-Wall is a beach shack that puts you in salt spray when the north winds are blowing; and Eat at Cane Bay is rumored to be overseen by the former magician of the lamented Bacchus. The "food shots" can be outstanding while the build-your-own burger challenges one's creativity.
I have rated the Inn as Very Good because of its cleanliness, price, retro charm and, especially, the attentiveness and kindness of its owners, Jennifer and Lionel.

Room Tip: Ask for a rocker on the upstairs veranda for a little sunset sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River

Address: 62 Salt River | Christiansted, Christiansted 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arawak Bay Inn offers a charming and relaxing experience on St. Croix's north shore. Each of its 14 rooms offer sweeping views of the Salt River Bay, and Caribbean Sea. This affordable B&B is 15 minutes from downtown Christiansted, and 5 minutes from the water sports activities of the St. Croix marina and Cane Bay. The Caribbean style continental breakfast ensures an island experience as you stay connected via wireless high speed Internet and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
Arawak Bay: The Inn At Salt River St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.