We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, good, relaxing...a local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Cantina and Sports Bar

Maria's Cantina and Sports Bar
Gallow's Bay, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
(340) 713-0222
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 75 Restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simple, good, relaxing...a local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wanted a comfortable place to unwind from a long day on the water, Maria's was perfect. Attentive bar tender got us cold drinks quickly and watch over us as the place was full. The food was good though pricey by mainland standards for Mexican. Good variety on the menu. Just a comfortable place to have a cold one and some good mexican. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best new mexican restaurant on STX!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Maria's has been open for about 7 months now. HALLELUJAH for STX! We were missing some Mexican down here! In my opinion, every taco dish is best on the soft corn tortilla... It's soft and crunchy at the same time! Best of both worlds! Choose black beans as your side and you won't go wrong! Get guacasalsa with your chips and salsa, YUM!
Fried fish tacos on soft corn tortilla = amazing.
Carnitas street tacos on soft corn = amazing! (It's fried pork, expect the meat to be crunchy!)
Try Maria's homemade desserts, they are unbelievable! Especially when she makes her bread pudding! She also has 2 new chefs creating new specials everyday! Stop in and say hello to Maria, she's there all of the time! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portersville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I ate here after reading all the great reviews. Not sure what is so special about it. The services was fair and the food was nothing special. I prefer the Mexican at Pirates Tavern actually.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great green sauce ! Had fish tacos & they were awesome. The atmosphere was good & the wait staff were attentive. The drinks were good & bartender knowledgeable

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Mexican Restaurant for St. Croix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had lunch here today for the first time and were pleasantly surprised. Mexican food is like politics and religion....people have there own ideas about it and will generally argue till the cows come in. The food is based on Tex-Mex and it was very good. I had the pork carnitas quesedillias with a side of refried beans. My wife had the cheese quesedillias with a side of Spanish rice. The quesedillias were very good with the pork cooked just right and very flavorful. My only compliant would be the black bean refried beans. They were very thin but very well seasoned and I ended up dipping my quesedillias in them. The service was very fast and friendly. Our order was taken and delivered within 15 minutes and it was just after lunchtime with the restaurant about half full. This place deserves a try. It is easy to get to in the Gallows Bay area with great parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Cantina and Sports Bar also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Maria's Cantina and Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Cantina and Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.