We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scale House

Scale House
King St., Christiansted, St. Croix
340-773-1460
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“History!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Learned some enlightening history! We were blessed with the information on the walls. I suggest stopping by the scale house.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's a scale.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are walking by this anyway, you might stop and have a look. It's an old building that houses an old scale from back when there was a sugar cane industry on the island. A little shop for a few souvenirs, that's about it. No charge, I believe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nps in Christiansted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Go to Scale House for National Parks information for all of St Croix. With the fort and other historic buildings nearby it is worth a visit; there is free car parking

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great history in a small room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had history on placards on the walls to describe the history of the scale house. Centrally located by the customs house and the water. Really neat to see the scale in the ground. Well kept too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small and quant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Loved this little building and it left me wanting more history! Just a small and well kept building that holds alot of history! Wish that we could have gone upstairs!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scale House also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Scale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.