We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“met the land steward” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Princess Estate

Little Princess Estate
Christiansted, St. Croix
340-773-5575
Improve this listing
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“met the land steward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were the only visitors one recent afternoon. We were lucky enough to get a long tour from Richard, who is the land steward for the Nature Conservancy. He knew so much about the local flora & fauna. He answered all of our questions about the local history, the birds, animals and trees on both inland & ocean parts of the property. We left with a greater understanding of whole picture of the Island. This visit was a highlight of our trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Two old buildings...that's about it. Not really worth the effort.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It's hard to find with no sighs leading the way. The people working there seems surprised when somebody does trip across the place. They're nice and welcoming enough, but there isn't really much to see. One building is basically their office space, the other has a handful of old photos on the wall explaining the history of the plantation that is almost completely gone.

If you are in the area with time to kill, go for it. Otherwise, skip it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Headquarters of the Nature Conservancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Nature Conservancy does great work and we went to see their headquarters which are in an old plantation and sugar and rum factory. There were no tours the day we were there, but it was interesting to hike around the trails to see the old factory and mill buildings which are now covered with vines and trees. This is also the headquarters for their coral planting operation -- they have been raising coral and planting it in reef sites around St Croix. We found the staff friendly and willing to talk about what they are doing.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“History come to life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you want to see a piece of history then you must visit the Little Princess Estate. It was a great little hideaway from the rest of the world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ventured out to this location on an overcast day with rain in the air. We were the only ones there so were fortunate to have an informative and accommodating employee named Richard who spent a few hours guiding us around the grounds and buildings, telling many stories about the history of the plantation, the local flora and other fascinating bits of information. We met his two dogs including one named Ladybug who helps him locate all of the just-hatched turtles so he can count them accurately. There are quite a few ruins and a greathouse that The Nature Conservancy is restoring. If I ever return to St. Croix, I would definitely check out this place again, if only to see how the restoration is going, since TNC just purchased it in 2011.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Princess Estate also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Little Princess Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Princess Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.