We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a 5 star hotel in Switzerland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than a 5 star hotel in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

About 9 months into our marriage my wife and I decided on St. Croix for our one year anniversary and immediately started shopping around for the best of everything the island had to offer at the best prices. When it came to hotel choice we first looked at the resorts, but they seemed a little too similar to everything else we had been to. After a little digging we found Villa Margarita. It was one of the best things we found during the whole trip, and that's saying a lot!

To begin with, the prices for Villa Margarita were about the same as some of the more affordable hotels/motels in Christiansted. The immediately apparent advantages over the Christiansted hotels were the functional kitchen and the beach side location. It is literally right on the beach!

Even though we visited during the high (read: expensive) season for all St. Croix hotels, we still had plenty of money to enjoy everything the island had to offer once we got there. I am a bit of a foodie, and I insisted on eating only fresh, local caught seafood during my entire stay. Even though our plane arrived well after dark, we were still immediately handed tropical drinks and warmly welcomed. Since we were starving from our long flight John and Adele immediately found us a close restaurant that was not only still open at 9 pm (relatively rare on this island, especially on the north coast), but also had fresh Wahoo available as the special.

It only got better from there. John and Adele were available for suggestions and help whenever we needed them but otherwise left us to enjoy ourselves. The central location is perfect for touring both Christiansted and Fredricksted (we did both multiple times in only 6 days but still feel like there were things we missed - get a cheap rental car - completely worth it).

About the room; it was quiet, clean, well appointed and well lit, with only the sound of the ocean to disturb us. The bed was fairy tale perfect: not to soft, not to hard. My wife and I both slept like babies once we finally wound down from our various adventures. The decorations were cute, the kitchen functional, and the cable and internet always worked except for the occasional 5 minute island wide outages that happen no matter what. During the day birds dip into the wading pool for drinks as you swim. Due to the location away from city lights, at night the stars are unlike anything you will see outside of rural areas around the equator. It could not have been better had we owned a condo that also happened to be 20 feet from a semi private pool and 50 feet from the ocean.

Overall, the place is fantastic. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, romantic place to stay on the island, Villa Margarita is hands down the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Before my husband and I made reservations to stay at the Villa Margarita, I did research on Trip Advisor and other sites and the reviews for the Villa were great. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. We prefer to stay at small hotels, B&B's and guest houses and I have to say that the Villa is at the top of places we have stayed. Adele greated us warmly and explained procedures throughly. She also has great tips on where to go and where to dine. She went out of her way to make us feel at home and even let us know when the local beach bars were having entertainment and who the entertainment was. We stayed in the East Suite which was very clean and comfortable with wonderful views. When you lay in bed at night all you can hear is the surf. Great! The kitchen is well stocked with all you could need should you choose to make a meal. The Villa is located in a very quiet location a short distance out of Christiansted. Because the Villa is centrally located it is easy to take day trips to either side of the island. Adele and John have beach chairs, beach towels, umbrella and coolers available if you wish to take them with you for the day. My husband and I loved St. Croix and staying at the Villa Margarita certainly made our stay that much more enjoyable. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

If you are thinking about booking here....JUST DO IT you will fall in love!! My husband and I just returned from Villa Margarita and all I can say is "AMAZING". It was so wonderful getting away from the large hotels. We were one of three couples staying which meant if we wanted to enjoy the pool or a walk on the beach, we were ALONE which is why we went on vacation. Adele is great and will ensure that you have a wonderful vacation....listen to her..she knows the ins and outs of the island and all of the activities, shopping, beaches and wonderful places to eat and unwind. When we first arrived we told her that we were planning on island hopping and she let us know that with only a week it wasn't a good idea.....she was so right. We explored every day and still not see everything we wanted to. The good thing is that means a return trip :) Rent a car (Judi at St Croix was amazing) and have fun!!! The difference between here and resorts is that we were completely safe driving from one end of the island to the other whether it was during the day or at night. We went on the Tan Tan tour through the rainforrest and to the tide pools, with Jolly Roger to Buck Island for some snorkeling, hit endless beaches along the way and some really great pubs on the pier! We were very active but when we got back to Villa Margarita it was so easy to slow down. You have your own patio directly faces the sea, a pool, and the beach what more could you want??..Other than not to leave

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We were looking for a nice quiet, relaxing place to spend our vacation. I had been to many islands in the area but never St. Croix so we decided to try it. At first I was looking online at the big resorts and somehow found the website to the Villa Margarita. It was the best choice we ever made. Had we gone with a large resort it would have been crowded and noisy...just the opposite of what we were looking for.

We had the one bedroom suite and the breeze was wonderful. Even though it was hot and humid, we never needed the AC. We ate breakfast and dinner on the balcony, overlooking the ocean. We went to sleep at night with the sliders open, listening to the waves hit the beach below us. We even spent a little time in the hammock for two, under the palm trees. Relaxation was what we wanted and the Villa Margarita delivered big time.

The suite was nicely decorated, keeping the theme of the tropics. It was just an extremely comfortable place. You could have housekeeping if you wanted it but it was so nice not to have anyone knocking on your door to make up the room or turn down the bed when you just wanted peace and quiet.

Rowdy Joe's and Off The Wall were 2 good restaurants not too far away. It was about a 20 minute drive into Christensted for other restaurants but the ride was fairly easy, given that the driving is on the left side. The distance into town was not a problem.

Adele and John were exactly what the other reviewers said...there if you needed them and not if you didn't. They had lots of suggestions on where to eat and what to do. They were the perfect hosts.

Even though we are not beach lovers or into snorkeling (probably the biggest reasons people go to the islands), we will definitely be back because of Adele, John and the Villa Margarita.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Staying at Villa Margarita was the best decision that we made in planning our honeymoon trip to St. Croix. It was recommended to us by family and friends who had nothing but great things to say about Villa Margarita. Upon arrival, John & Adele already had a bottle of rum waiting for us in the fridge in our suite. Each suite is also equipped with beach towels, beach bags and many other necessities. We were just a short walk from the beach and snorkeling. Being located outside of Christiansted was perfect as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was also better than staying at a resort or hotel as there were not all kinds of people and children running around. It is just a short drive from the city or to restaurants and bars located along the shore line.
John and Adele were the perfect hosts. They were there for you if you needed them and invisible when you didn't. It is easy to tell that they take great pride in owning and running the Villa as it is always in tip-top condition.
If you are looking for something to do, John & Adele have many suggestions for anything you may be interested in or you may check out the table full of information located in the entrance of the Villa.
Happy Hour was one of our favorite times at the Villa. John & Adele would host Happy Hour a couple of times a week and it was a great time for the guests to get together, try out different drinks and exchange stories.
We had a fabulous time and enjoyed not only our time spent on St. Croix, but also the time spent at Villa Margarita. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut Shoreline
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from our best vacation stay ever in the Caribbean. We have been spending our Februarys in Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands for the last 10 years and have finally found the best place to stay at a very reasonable price. John and Adele own and operate the Villa Margarita guesthouse that essentially is a villa containing three guest suites and the owner’s quarters. The location is ideal for visiting the island, being located on the very scenic north shore of St. Croix and overlooking the Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve. Beautiful Cane Bay with its funky restaurants, shady beach, and great snorkeling is only 8 minutes away. Historic Christiansted with many good restaurants and stores is only 20 minutes away to the east, and the very long soft sandy beach at Sandy Point 30 minutes to the west. A small sandy beach is just a few steps down from the pool but the sea is too shallow for swimming. A short walk west (100 feet) along the beach leads to a bigger beach with good swimming and if the water is calm enough to swim over the reef is also good snorkeling. A short walk to the east (along the beach or down the dead end road that leads to the villa) brings one to the site of Columbus’s landing in 1493 where there is also good snorkeling protected by the outer reef.

We stayed in the immaculately clean studio suite with queen bed on the ground floor that was plenty big enough for us. The bathroom was very clean with only a shower (no tub). Being on the east side of the villa we were lucky to get the breeze through the suite and with the ceiling fan did not need to use the air conditioning. The suite is equipped with a small kitchenette with medium sized fridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster oven and separate toaster. There is no stove per se, but there are two electric cooking rings and an electric skillet if you want to cook meals. We used them quite a bit in order to save money by only eating out 2 or 3 times a week. Unlike many of the Islands, St. Croix has several supermarkets with the Plaza Extra (West) (15 minutes away) being nearly as well stocked as the supermarkets back in the States.

The suite also comes with all your beach needs—towels, snorkeling gear, wet shoes, and even beach chairs. The latter we would put in the car and take them with us when we visited the numerous beaches on the island.

A big plus for the studio suite is its large patio overlooking the pool and Caribbean Sea. We would drink our morning coffee while watching the dive boats arriving just a few hundred yards off shore. In the evening we would sip our beer and wine watching the skies darken and seeing the twinkling lights of St. Thomas on the horizon some 40 miles away.

Finally we can’t finish this review without expressing how gracious and thoughtful our hosts were. Greeting us with rum punch and a bottle of wine on arrival, and offering all the guests a “happy hour” about twice a week. They were full of recommendations for restaurants and things to do but were never invasive.

Overall a fabulous place to stay, unwind, and relax in the sun and turquoise waters of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Adelle & John are fantasic hosts!! My husband and I have been staying at the Villa Margarita numerous times and would never stay anywhere but here. It's like having your own private home to come to. Every room is oceanside. Absolutely beautiful views! The rooms are comfortable and very clean!! Every time we visit the villa, it just gets more prettier. Adelle & John have made so many improvements on this property. Also very quite all you will hear is the surf.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.