We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
West Springfield, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Most relaxing place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We were looking for a nice quiet, relaxing place to spend our vacation. I had been to many islands in the area but never St. Croix so we decided to try it. At first I was looking online at the big resorts and somehow found the website to the Villa Margarita. It was the best choice we ever made. Had we gone with a large resort it would have been crowded and noisy...just the opposite of what we were looking for.

We had the one bedroom suite and the breeze was wonderful. Even though it was hot and humid, we never needed the AC. We ate breakfast and dinner on the balcony, overlooking the ocean. We went to sleep at night with the sliders open, listening to the waves hit the beach below us. We even spent a little time in the hammock for two, under the palm trees. Relaxation was what we wanted and the Villa Margarita delivered big time.

The suite was nicely decorated, keeping the theme of the tropics. It was just an extremely comfortable place. You could have housekeeping if you wanted it but it was so nice not to have anyone knocking on your door to make up the room or turn down the bed when you just wanted peace and quiet.

Rowdy Joe's and Off The Wall were 2 good restaurants not too far away. It was about a 20 minute drive into Christensted for other restaurants but the ride was fairly easy, given that the driving is on the left side. The distance into town was not a problem.

Adele and John were exactly what the other reviewers said...there if you needed them and not if you didn't. They had lots of suggestions on where to eat and what to do. They were the perfect hosts.

Even though we are not beach lovers or into snorkeling (probably the biggest reasons people go to the islands), we will definitely be back because of Adele, John and the Villa Margarita.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Staying at Villa Margarita was the best decision that we made in planning our honeymoon trip to St. Croix. It was recommended to us by family and friends who had nothing but great things to say about Villa Margarita. Upon arrival, John & Adele already had a bottle of rum waiting for us in the fridge in our suite. Each suite is also equipped with beach towels, beach bags and many other necessities. We were just a short walk from the beach and snorkeling. Being located outside of Christiansted was perfect as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was also better than staying at a resort or hotel as there were not all kinds of people and children running around. It is just a short drive from the city or to restaurants and bars located along the shore line.
John and Adele were the perfect hosts. They were there for you if you needed them and invisible when you didn't. It is easy to tell that they take great pride in owning and running the Villa as it is always in tip-top condition.
If you are looking for something to do, John & Adele have many suggestions for anything you may be interested in or you may check out the table full of information located in the entrance of the Villa.
Happy Hour was one of our favorite times at the Villa. John & Adele would host Happy Hour a couple of times a week and it was a great time for the guests to get together, try out different drinks and exchange stories.
We had a fabulous time and enjoyed not only our time spent on St. Croix, but also the time spent at Villa Margarita. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut Shoreline
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from our best vacation stay ever in the Caribbean. We have been spending our Februarys in Puerto Rico or the Virgin Islands for the last 10 years and have finally found the best place to stay at a very reasonable price. John and Adele own and operate the Villa Margarita guesthouse that essentially is a villa containing three guest suites and the owner’s quarters. The location is ideal for visiting the island, being located on the very scenic north shore of St. Croix and overlooking the Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve. Beautiful Cane Bay with its funky restaurants, shady beach, and great snorkeling is only 8 minutes away. Historic Christiansted with many good restaurants and stores is only 20 minutes away to the east, and the very long soft sandy beach at Sandy Point 30 minutes to the west. A small sandy beach is just a few steps down from the pool but the sea is too shallow for swimming. A short walk west (100 feet) along the beach leads to a bigger beach with good swimming and if the water is calm enough to swim over the reef is also good snorkeling. A short walk to the east (along the beach or down the dead end road that leads to the villa) brings one to the site of Columbus’s landing in 1493 where there is also good snorkeling protected by the outer reef.

We stayed in the immaculately clean studio suite with queen bed on the ground floor that was plenty big enough for us. The bathroom was very clean with only a shower (no tub). Being on the east side of the villa we were lucky to get the breeze through the suite and with the ceiling fan did not need to use the air conditioning. The suite is equipped with a small kitchenette with medium sized fridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster oven and separate toaster. There is no stove per se, but there are two electric cooking rings and an electric skillet if you want to cook meals. We used them quite a bit in order to save money by only eating out 2 or 3 times a week. Unlike many of the Islands, St. Croix has several supermarkets with the Plaza Extra (West) (15 minutes away) being nearly as well stocked as the supermarkets back in the States.

The suite also comes with all your beach needs—towels, snorkeling gear, wet shoes, and even beach chairs. The latter we would put in the car and take them with us when we visited the numerous beaches on the island.

A big plus for the studio suite is its large patio overlooking the pool and Caribbean Sea. We would drink our morning coffee while watching the dive boats arriving just a few hundred yards off shore. In the evening we would sip our beer and wine watching the skies darken and seeing the twinkling lights of St. Thomas on the horizon some 40 miles away.

Finally we can’t finish this review without expressing how gracious and thoughtful our hosts were. Greeting us with rum punch and a bottle of wine on arrival, and offering all the guests a “happy hour” about twice a week. They were full of recommendations for restaurants and things to do but were never invasive.

Overall a fabulous place to stay, unwind, and relax in the sun and turquoise waters of the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Adelle & John are fantasic hosts!! My husband and I have been staying at the Villa Margarita numerous times and would never stay anywhere but here. It's like having your own private home to come to. Every room is oceanside. Absolutely beautiful views! The rooms are comfortable and very clean!! Every time we visit the villa, it just gets more prettier. Adelle & John have made so many improvements on this property. Also very quite all you will hear is the surf.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The highlight of our honeymoon.

Adelle and John were more than accommodating. Adelle recommended the best tours and restaurants during our stay. The room was fantastic. All rooms face the water, and had a kitchenette. The view is stunning. We had a cool ocean breeze every night.

Villa Margarita is away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to what matters. There's a dive center three minutes away, and a great restaurant, Rowdy Joe's about 5 minutes away.

Adelle has a friend who will come to the house and give massages by the pool or in the room. There's a fantastic hike nearby to some tidal pools. Well worth the walk. The diving (500 yards off Villa Margarita's beach) is the best I've seen in the world. 100+ feet of visibility the day we went. The site is called the "wall", and it's right in front of Villa Margarita. Awesome.

We will be back...and we're bringing more couples next time!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

John and Adele are wonderful. There if you need and want them, invisible if you don't! So helpful in so many ways. Great recommendations, great hospitality. All in all a wonderful stay! We will be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mockfactor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Flew in from New York for a much, much needed vacation... thank goodness for Villa Margarita. Great recommendations on what to do around the island. Perfect location. Great price. Awesome snorkeling just steps away. Looking forward to going back!
-G & M

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list