We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Years Special
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Tampa, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect wedding in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed with John and Adele at Villa Margarita for the second time this summer. After we visited 4 years ago and had the trip of a lifetime, we knew that we would return for our wedding. Adele and John were incredibly resourceful and helped us with every detail of our special day. They truly made every effort to make sure that our wedding trip was perfect from beginning to end. Villa Margarita is the perfect location for couples looking for a sanctuary where they can relax, bond , enjoy each other and the beautiful island, and make great friends. The accomodations are comfortable, meticulously clean and the view of the caribbean ocean is amazing. The location is close to Christiansted, Frederiksted and the beautiful north shore beaches. Villa Margarita has exceeded our expectations on both visits. John and Adele are incredible hosts and their knowledge of the island is outstanding. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I had high expectations for our stay at Villa Margarita. The Villa exceeded our expectations and Adele and John were the perfect hosts.
We shared the two room suite with firends of ours. Both couples were celebrating our 15th Anniverseries and visiting St. Croix for the first time.
Adele's local knowledge assisted us even before we arrived at the Villa. She recommended a great restaurant for dinner on our trip from the airport to the Villa.
We relied on her recommendations for dinner each night and even spent a couple of nights hanging out with her and John. Our hosts were never intrusive, but always available for advice, local knowledge, and a rum drink to begin each evening.

Who wouldn't like the Villa??? Only someone who has to be in the middle of the action and within walking distance of life's needs. We had to drive to dinner each night (there is a restaurant at the Salt River Marina --about a 5 minute walk and a tiki hut at the Gentle Winds condo down the beach that serves lunch), and had to drive for shopping and activities on St. Croix. However, that's what makes Villa Margarita special, you are able to get away from it all and just RELAX!

Top Recommendations:

>The Sunset Jazz Celebration--hanging out with the locals beside the beach
>Dinner at Off The Wall--Eating outside with the Ocean a few feet away, then sitting in the hammock with a Boat Drink and listening to the band
>Dinner at Baccus--Excellent Wine and Food in town
>Kayaking in the Salt River
>The Cruzan Rum Factory Tour
>Dinner at The Sunset Grill-On the beach under the tiki torches with a glimpse of the Milky Way

............and whatever you do, make sure that you make the trip (sail the tri-maran) to Buck Island!

If you need to unplug and explore St. Croix, I highly recommend Villa Margarita.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Villa Margarita in early June. From the first phone call with Adele, she and her husband John were great hosts and turned out to be friends. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have a great view of the ocean. The quiet setting provided a great place to just hang out or relax after hiking, snorkeling, or just plain adventuring. John and Adele gave us great tips on where to go and what to see. We can't say enough great things about the lovely, quiet, and welcoming Villa...we hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We spent 8 nights at Villa Margarita in February and we would return in an instant. We have traveled a great deal throughout the Caribbean and we like to stay in quiet, elegant, small places on the water. Adele and John are the perfect hosts. The Villa is immaculate. They are available to answer any questions, make reservations for dinner or a kayak tour, etc, but are never intrusive. The Caribbean is literally at your feet with Christiansted a very short drive away. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Villa Margarita just keeps getting better & better! Adele & John have thought of everything. I wouldn't be surprised to learn they arranged for the school of rays to pass by outside our window. The location is perfect for exploring--or just relaxing right there. (It is tempting to just sit on the balcony and watch the pelicans and frigate birds dive into the crystal clear water by day, and the twinkling ship lights and stars by night. The sounds of the ocean waves lulling you to sleep.)

But do rent a car from Judi of Croix and get out and explore the island. Adele can tell you all the best bets, including those that don't make any of the tourist guides (although she has plenty of those for you to review). This was our third week-long stay and we still have more to discover on our next visit.

  • Liked — View, hosts, comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed at Villa Margarita this past June for our honeymoon ( I know, reviewing a little late> :)), and had a wonderful time. Adelle was the best hostess we have ever had...from the minute I spoke with her on the phone, I knew I had found the right place! She took the time to discuss St. Croix and answer all my questions , BEFORE she knew she was getting our money. And she was just as wonderful AFTER we paid her. She actually cared about making sure we would have an amazing time and would help with whatever we needed. That was a great sign to us...and when we arrived we were not disappointed .We stayed in the small suite downstairs and loved it. The villa was extremely clean, the pool was clean, and the view was amazing. There was a hammock to relax, and we were steps from the beach...a VERY short stroll down the beach will take you to an area where you could swim and snorkel. A ten minute drive will take you to one of the nicests resorts on the island (free to hang out), and we were midway between both towns. You need to rent a car in order to reach anything, but that was exactly what we were looking for.
Adelle would make us drinks when we were hanging out at the pool. She was perfect at giving us our privacy but letting us know she was there if we needed anything.
It was a quiet place to relax but close to everything on the island.
The reviews are true...you don't want to miss out on staying here.

  • Liked — Clean, great location, wonderful hostess, beautiful area
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I went to Villa Margarita for our second honeymoon. When I emailed Villa Margarita the owners were quick to respond. They were very accomodating and informative about the island. They gave us ideas of things to do in St. Croix. When we arrived at Villa Margarita we were greeted by the owners John and Adele very warmfully. We were shown our room, which was not only beautiful but the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The view from each room was just breath taking. We did alot of sight seeing, but we were content with just sitting pool side and enjoying the spectacular view from our balcony. The owners are very sweet, and they gave us our privacy. I can't wait to go back. Hopefully sometime soon. Thanks John and Adele for making this a trip we will never forget!!!!

  • Liked — The scenery was beautiful!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.