We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save Saved
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited because of a family funeral but nothing was too much bother. Stayed up late for us to arrive and accommodation was the 1st floor studio. It had everything you could need and more. Nothing was too much trouble with Adele and John who were perfect hosts. Wish it could have been better circumstances to enjoy even more but we were not holidaying but would recommend perfect place for anyone to stay at. Couples / Honeymooners / family's could enjoy. Just perfect !

Room Tip: All rooms were good to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said? How many places can you wake up and see the ocean without getting out of bed? Adele and John are excellent hosts and make us feel like part of the family from the moment we arrived. Villa Margarita location on the North Shore is peaceful and relaxing but close enough to town to get there in minutes. The Villa's happy hour at the Tiki bar by the pool is a nice addition. Adele has lots of useful information to help any stay on STX. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pick any. The studio is on the 1st floor convenient to the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I just can't stop raving about our week at the Villa Margarita! It was everything we hoped for and more! Adele and John have created an oasis of relaxation on the north shore of paradise!

Here's what you'll find at the Villa Margarita:

- Lovely villa - scrupulously clean, nicely decorated and meticulously maintained
- Peaceful, tranquil setting at the end of a gated, private gravel road
- Breathtaking view
- Small, private beach for watching the waves and soaking up the sun
- Beach chairs, towels, coolers... everything you need for a day out at the local beaches
- Balcony (or deck) where you can sip your Cruzan rum drinks
- Tiki bar overlooking the pool
- Restful hammock with a view of the water
- Swimming pool with deck chairs
- Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, toaster and electric frying pan (as well as dishes, glassware, flatware, etc.)
- Comfy bed with tropical-theme linens
- The roar of the surf and the whispers of palm trees to lull you to sleep at night

The Villa Margarita is situated on the north shore, just a quarter of a mile from Salt River Bay (the original landing spot for Christopher Columbus). The closest restaurant, Pirate's Tavern, is at the Salt River Marina and is only about five minutes away. Other places to eat can be reached via a short, scenic drive.

We stayed in the one-bedroom East suite, which has an open floor plan bedroom, living room, dining area, kitchenette and bathroom. There are ocean views from every room, including the bathroom! We could literally see fish swimming in the shallows! We loved eating breakfast in our little hideaway overlooking the pool and the surf breaking on the reef before heading out for our daily activities.

Be sure you don't miss the happy hour - Adele has a wealth of information about the local area, including restaurants (Rowdy Joe's, eat @ Cane Bay and Salud), interesting activities (Jump-Up and the Cruzan rum factory tour) and great beaches. There's so much to see and do, we'll have to go back!

Thanks so much, Adele and John!
Catherine and Oscar

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because of the view of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned from our 4th trip to the Villa Margarita and loved it as much as the other 3 times. The location is fantastic and Adele & John are the perfect hosts. We've gotten to the point of spending more time in our 1 bedroom suite, sitting on the balcony overlooking the water, reading and totally relaxing. At night we go to sleep with the sound of the ocean. What more could someone ask for? Every year when we leave, we're counting the weeks till we go back.

Room Tip: Any room is great, it just depends what you need or want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to St. Croix and our second time staying at Villa Margarita. We stayed here our first trip and decided to stay at another villa with another couple during our second trip. We knew we wanted to return to VM during our 3rd trip because it has everything we need and want in our favorite location of the island! I completely echo everything any other reviewer has written about John and Adele's lovely villa and I've written a review on it before as well. This time I'd like to talk more about John and Adele and the location of their villa on island. I'll start with the location first. They are located on the North Shore of the island by Salt River Marina. FANTASTIC LOCATION! Fabulous beaches, amazing food, fabulous beaches, amazing food, oh and I did I mention fabulous beaches and amazing food? It really sits by our two fave restaurants Rowdy Joe's and Eat at Cane Bay. Cane Bay is a fave beach of ours too. It's also a quick, scenic drive to Christiansted for shopping and great people watching. It's also very close to Anchor Dive Center - about 3 minutes away. If you're a diver and feel like catching a boat out in the morning, you don't have to go very far - it's in their backyard in fact! My husband is a diver and has had nothing but rave reviews about his diving experiences here - Anchor Dive and the location of the dives. Cane Bay Dive Shop and a shore dive at Cane Bay is also 5-star. And saving the best for last...John and Adele. Two wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to make your trip exactly what you want it to be. They are both super helpful with the ins and outs of the island, where to eat, where to go, etc. Just super cool people! You can't go wrong in staying at Villa Margarita during your trip to St. Croix. Do yourself a favor and book a room here! :)

Room Tip: The one bedroom East Suite is our favorite! However, the Studio Suite is charming and cozy in itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed a week at Villa Margarita on our honeymoon in late May 2012 and it was the perfect, private Caribbean getaway.

John and Adele were great hosts. Between John showing my wife and I how to crack open coconuts to the happy hour they hosted a few times during the week to the numerous times we relied on them for insider information about what to do on the island, John and Adele were completely awesome.

If privacy is what you desire, we cant recommend Villa Margarita strongly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We cannot say enough good about the Villa Margarita, and Adele and John. We would give this ten stars if possible. We actually cancelled a reservation elsewhere and stayed longer. We were in the studio and loved everything about it! It was roomy and had a fantastic view, especially the coconut tree we came to love. I could go on and on, but it's all been said, over and over. We are definitely going back and 2014 won't come soon enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.