We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
New Years Special
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Pikeville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed a week at Villa Margarita on our honeymoon in late May 2012 and it was the perfect, private Caribbean getaway.

John and Adele were great hosts. Between John showing my wife and I how to crack open coconuts to the happy hour they hosted a few times during the week to the numerous times we relied on them for insider information about what to do on the island, John and Adele were completely awesome.

If privacy is what you desire, we cant recommend Villa Margarita strongly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We cannot say enough good about the Villa Margarita, and Adele and John. We would give this ten stars if possible. We actually cancelled a reservation elsewhere and stayed longer. We were in the studio and loved everything about it! It was roomy and had a fantastic view, especially the coconut tree we came to love. I could go on and on, but it's all been said, over and over. We are definitely going back and 2014 won't come soon enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I live in St Thomas and were looking for a romantic getaway. When you live in the Virgin Islands. Where do you go for a romantic getaway? Our sister Island St. Croix is a great choice and Villa Margarita is perfect for that couple that wants to spent time with each other. Located on the vista of Salt River Point, Villa Margarita's northern view of the blue Caribbean is breath taking. The grounds have a pool, hot tub, beach access, fire pit, sunset swing, hammock and of course the Tiki Bar. The owners and operators Adele and John were great. They made sure the time we spent there was amazing. They offered great tips for places to eat, places to explore and things to do. Adele also registered us with the USVI tourism board to get us some helpful vouchers and coupons saving us money on dinners and shopping. From Villa Margarita's central location we were able to easily explore the whole Island, finding many romantic spots to spend time away from the crowds. We will never forget the great hosts and beautiful villa since this turned out to be our ENGAGEMENT getaway. We look forward to coming back for anniversaries in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Villa Margarita doesn't really need any more glowing reviews -- it has 80-some already -- so I'll keep mine brief. Yes, it is the great place everyone says it is! After 2 days back home my husband and I are still saying we're jealous of the current couple who are now staying in "our suite"! We loved the East suite, the views, Adele's hospitality, the location, the delicious happy-hour rum specials, etc., etc. And after visiting most of the islands of the Caribbean, we don't know how we somehow missed St. Croix until this year. It's a lovely, laid-back island, and we look forward to returning to both the island and Villa Margarita.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After three visits to Villa Margarita, this perfectly located and managed inn has become our home away from home. My husband and I reside in St. Augustine, FL, a beautiful town, but St. Croix--specifically Villa Margarita--is even better! When we arrived for our most recent visit, we were greeted with, “Welcome Home!” by its wonderful owner, Adele, who runs this lovely villa with her delightful husband, John. This is by far the warmest, most comfortable, most immaculate place we’ve ever stayed during our many trips to the Caribbean, and its views are absolutely to die for. From each of the three beautifully appointed suites, a 1-bedroom and a 2-bedroom upstairs and a studio down, you are awed by stunning panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea including the surrounding British Virgin Islands, St. Thomas and St. John. Each suite has a very private balcony or patio. On-site there is a gorgeous deck, pool, hot tub, and tiki bar, where Adele and John host their fabulous Happy Hours, so there is plenty of opportunity to socialize or just relax, whichever you choose. Restaurants, live music (don’t miss guitarist Steven Katz), shopping, historic sites, pristine beaches, and water sports are within a short driving distance from the villa. And the value--my goodness, you couldn’t get a better value than Villa Margarita! It is one of the least expensive inns on the island, probably in the Caribbean, and in our experience, absolutely the nicest! It’s a great place to stay if it’s your first time in St. Croix, as Adele and John know the island well and can direct you to the things you enjoy. It’s a great place to stay if you’re an explorer, because you can come and go as you please. And it’s a great place to stay if all you want to do is relax, because it is as quiet as you want it to be. You can’t go wrong!

Room Tip: The East suites, upstairs and downstairs, have the best breezes. But the West suite, which has 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingtov
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just spent another terrific two weeks at Villa Margarita. It is still a perfect place for a carribean holiday: convenient to both cities, near to great activities and beautiful premises. You cannot beat the acommodations. The place is beautifully maintained and a great place to relax. Adele and John continue as great hosts. This place is a real find and I recommend it!

Room Tip: All three suites are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my wife and I 4th trip to St. Croix, and out 3rd stay at Villa Margarita. John and Adele were once again great hosts. The accommodations were wonderful as usual. You will not find a better deal anywhere on the island. John is an excellent carpenter and has finished a "Tiki Bar" next to the pool. Happy hours are always fun and this time John brought out a large screen TV for the Ravens game. Adele is a great bartender and always has a full line of Cruzan Rum to make whatever you want. The pool and decking have all been replaced since we were there last and it looks magnificent.
If you are not familiar with St Croix, Villa Margarita is on the north shore by the salt river. It is secluded enough that you can get away from crowds and is only a 10 minute drive to Christiansted and the boardwalk/shopping/restaurants. There are a several restaurants up by Cane Bay but the best is Eat @ Cane Bay. Friday night 2 for 1 wine. Snorkeling and Snuba are also great at Cane Bay.
As I said, John and Adele are wonderful hosts. They will party with you or give you the privacy and seclusion you want. All the suites come with bed, private bathroom and kitchenette. Adele knows all the best places to eat and who runs specials or music each night. They celebrated my wife's birthday with us and made our stay a pleasure once again. Unless your looking for a $400 a night resort and somebody to leave a mint on your pillow each night, Villa Margarita is the best bang for the buck on the island. It is a couples place, not a kids place. We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: We love the studio suite. Still see the ocean, have a large patio and table out the back. Steps aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.