We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fun at Villa Margarita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Huntingtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome fun at Villa Margarita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my wife and I 4th trip to St. Croix, and out 3rd stay at Villa Margarita. John and Adele were once again great hosts. The accommodations were wonderful as usual. You will not find a better deal anywhere on the island. John is an excellent carpenter and has finished a "Tiki Bar" next to the pool. Happy hours are always fun and this time John brought out a large screen TV for the Ravens game. Adele is a great bartender and always has a full line of Cruzan Rum to make whatever you want. The pool and decking have all been replaced since we were there last and it looks magnificent.
If you are not familiar with St Croix, Villa Margarita is on the north shore by the salt river. It is secluded enough that you can get away from crowds and is only a 10 minute drive to Christiansted and the boardwalk/shopping/restaurants. There are a several restaurants up by Cane Bay but the best is Eat @ Cane Bay. Friday night 2 for 1 wine. Snorkeling and Snuba are also great at Cane Bay.
As I said, John and Adele are wonderful hosts. They will party with you or give you the privacy and seclusion you want. All the suites come with bed, private bathroom and kitchenette. Adele knows all the best places to eat and who runs specials or music each night. They celebrated my wife's birthday with us and made our stay a pleasure once again. Unless your looking for a $400 a night resort and somebody to leave a mint on your pillow each night, Villa Margarita is the best bang for the buck on the island. It is a couples place, not a kids place. We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: We love the studio suite. Still see the ocean, have a large patio and table out the back. Steps aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
68
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Love, love, loved staying at Villa Margarita. This place is a great little gem on St. Croix. The owners are some of the nicest people you will meet and you can't beat the view or location. Stayed in the east suite and loved waking up to such incredible views. Would highly recommend this place to anyone headed to the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at Villa Margarita, and before we left, we’d already made reservations for a third later this year! Once again, our trip was fantastic. Villa Margarita, an exceptional value, is impeccably maintained by owners Adele and John, a truly special couple. They provide you with all the comforts of home--full kitchen, comfy bed and bedroom, cozy bath with fancy soaps, dining and living rooms, satellite TV, movies, books, music, Wi-Fi --and then some. You are also treated to a magnificent hand-crafted teak pool deck, tiki bar and hot tub, spectacular ocean views from all rooms, and a stunning private beach perfect for sunbathing and snorkeling. The Villa is located in one of the loveliest areas of the island, and is within walking distance of historic Columbus Cove, Salt River Marina, and Pirate’s Tavern restaurant. It is also close to many other delicious restaurants in the North Shore, Cane Bay, Fredriksted, and Christiansted areas, as well as great diving, kayaking, shopping, and sight-seeing. Must-sees include Whim Plantation, St. George Village Botanical Gardens, Cruzan Rum Distillery (free samples--just don’t forget to drive on the left afterwards!), Lawaetz Museum, the historic forts, LEAP, and Point Udall.

The island of St. Croix is picturesque, the people warm, and the culture fascinating. My husband and I have travelled to many beautiful Caribbean locales, but Villa Margarita in St. Croix, without question, is the most welcoming and endearing place that we’ve ever experienced. At long last, we have found our home away from home!

Room Tip: All three rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Love the villa! Stayed in east and west suite 3 nights each and they were both great. Note it is not a b&b as there is no breakfast. You will need to cook your own. Other than that everything was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We recently returned from our third trip to the Villa Margarita and it was as wonderful as ever. We always stay in the one bedroom suite and enjoy the fabulous breeze...no AC needed. Eating breakfast and dinner on the balcony with the ocean view is so peaceful and relaxing. At night the sky is so dark and the stars shine so bright. It's heaven on earth.

John built a multi-tiered deck around the pool, added a hot tub and a beautiful tiki bar. He also made a nice swing/seat for 2 in the yard. It all added to the serenity of the place. He did a fantastic job.

The weather didn't cooperate as well this year but it was still good enough for us to get out and do things...when we could pull ourselves away from the room, grounds and view. We did a night kayaking trip, took the seaplane to St. Thomas for a day and ate lunch at our favorite places...Cheeseburgers in Paradise, Rowdy Joe's and Off the Wall. Just riding around the island and seeing the different areas is also interesting.

R&R is what we wanted and Villa Margarita gave us just that...many times over.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay in the one bedroom suite at Villa Margarita. Words can not describe what a wonderful vacation we had. Adele and John are wonderful hosts, the suite more than comfortable and the ocean views from both rooms over the top beautiful. Each of their 3 suites come with a well equipped kitchen and we stocked up the first day with breakfast and lunch supplies and then went out at night for dinner. Every morning we sat on the patio watching for pelicans and eating our cheereos! it does not get better than that!

We sailed on the Roseway, moonlight kayaked to see the bio- luminecense, hiked in the rain forest, had a massage in our rooms........we were in heaven!

John recently built a Tiki Bar down by the pool and several evenings we enjoyed rum drinks and good company with other guests and our hosts.

Only words of wisdom would be to plan your arrival time so that you are driving by light to find the inn. We arrived around dusk, were getting use to driving on the left, and really did get lost the first night. Once we saw everything by day we realized how simple it would have been with Adele's good directions and a little light.

We have two inns on Cape Cod and are rather picky about our accommodations. We found VM to be over the top special and their attention to detail really shows!

Room Tip: All three suites are wonderful. The one on the bottom floor has access to the pool and is smaller. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas,USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Staying at Villa Margarita has been a great experience for the following reasons:

Service: From the first inquiry I sent to management a month prior to my stay, management was both polite and quick to reply. In addition, they provided additional recommendations to help ease an potential bumps which may be encountered arriving in Christiansted. The directions from the airport to Villa Margarita were also good to have as it can be easy to miss turns/roads your first time to St. Croix. Upon arriving to Villa Margarita we were instantly greeted by the Manager, Adele, who lead us to our rooms. She then advised us of nearby restaurants and other locations worth checking out. On the last night of our stay we attended the 'Happy Hour' which actually turned out to be a great time (enjoying free drinks while chatting at a pretty cool Tiki Bar). Be sure to not miss this event as the manager is a true host. Service at the hotel rates. Management will go the extra mile for you. 5/5.

Value: With the service, room quality, and spectacular views of the ocean from your bed at night, Villa Margarita is a bargain compared to other locations on the island. 5/5

Sleep Quality: Bed was comfortable and the breeze keeps the room comfortable as long as you leave the windows open. The sound of the ocean at night is soothing and memorable. 5/5

Cleanliness: Rooms were clean, neat, and appropriately decorated. 5/5

Location: Villa Margarita is away from both major towns in St Croix which is exactly what we were looking for. It is near two beaches which are <5 minutes away. Villa Margarita is in a quiet part of the island where people go for peaceful seclusion. 5/5

Rooms: Rooms were wonderful. The kitchenette had everything needed to create a meal (recommend you get groceries and cook breakfast- this will save you time and money on the island) The views from the rooms are priceless.

Overall I will stay at Villa Margarita again if I found myself visiting St. Croix again. I have traveled to quite a few exotic locations and stayed at many hotels- Villa Margarita has been one of my most enjoyable stays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.