We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third time and counting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save Saved
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 a night
Ranked #2 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
West Springfield, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“third time and counting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We recently returned from our third trip to the Villa Margarita and it was as wonderful as ever. We always stay in the one bedroom suite and enjoy the fabulous breeze...no AC needed. Eating breakfast and dinner on the balcony with the ocean view is so peaceful and relaxing. At night the sky is so dark and the stars shine so bright. It's heaven on earth.

John built a multi-tiered deck around the pool, added a hot tub and a beautiful tiki bar. He also made a nice swing/seat for 2 in the yard. It all added to the serenity of the place. He did a fantastic job.

The weather didn't cooperate as well this year but it was still good enough for us to get out and do things...when we could pull ourselves away from the room, grounds and view. We did a night kayaking trip, took the seaplane to St. Thomas for a day and ate lunch at our favorite places...Cheeseburgers in Paradise, Rowdy Joe's and Off the Wall. Just riding around the island and seeing the different areas is also interesting.

R&R is what we wanted and Villa Margarita gave us just that...many times over.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay in the one bedroom suite at Villa Margarita. Words can not describe what a wonderful vacation we had. Adele and John are wonderful hosts, the suite more than comfortable and the ocean views from both rooms over the top beautiful. Each of their 3 suites come with a well equipped kitchen and we stocked up the first day with breakfast and lunch supplies and then went out at night for dinner. Every morning we sat on the patio watching for pelicans and eating our cheereos! it does not get better than that!

We sailed on the Roseway, moonlight kayaked to see the bio- luminecense, hiked in the rain forest, had a massage in our rooms........we were in heaven!

John recently built a Tiki Bar down by the pool and several evenings we enjoyed rum drinks and good company with other guests and our hosts.

Only words of wisdom would be to plan your arrival time so that you are driving by light to find the inn. We arrived around dusk, were getting use to driving on the left, and really did get lost the first night. Once we saw everything by day we realized how simple it would have been with Adele's good directions and a little light.

We have two inns on Cape Cod and are rather picky about our accommodations. We found VM to be over the top special and their attention to detail really shows!

Room Tip: All three suites are wonderful. The one on the bottom floor has access to the pool and is smaller. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas,USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Staying at Villa Margarita has been a great experience for the following reasons:

Service: From the first inquiry I sent to management a month prior to my stay, management was both polite and quick to reply. In addition, they provided additional recommendations to help ease an potential bumps which may be encountered arriving in Christiansted. The directions from the airport to Villa Margarita were also good to have as it can be easy to miss turns/roads your first time to St. Croix. Upon arriving to Villa Margarita we were instantly greeted by the Manager, Adele, who lead us to our rooms. She then advised us of nearby restaurants and other locations worth checking out. On the last night of our stay we attended the 'Happy Hour' which actually turned out to be a great time (enjoying free drinks while chatting at a pretty cool Tiki Bar). Be sure to not miss this event as the manager is a true host. Service at the hotel rates. Management will go the extra mile for you. 5/5.

Value: With the service, room quality, and spectacular views of the ocean from your bed at night, Villa Margarita is a bargain compared to other locations on the island. 5/5

Sleep Quality: Bed was comfortable and the breeze keeps the room comfortable as long as you leave the windows open. The sound of the ocean at night is soothing and memorable. 5/5

Cleanliness: Rooms were clean, neat, and appropriately decorated. 5/5

Location: Villa Margarita is away from both major towns in St Croix which is exactly what we were looking for. It is near two beaches which are <5 minutes away. Villa Margarita is in a quiet part of the island where people go for peaceful seclusion. 5/5

Rooms: Rooms were wonderful. The kitchenette had everything needed to create a meal (recommend you get groceries and cook breakfast- this will save you time and money on the island) The views from the rooms are priceless.

Overall I will stay at Villa Margarita again if I found myself visiting St. Croix again. I have traveled to quite a few exotic locations and stayed at many hotels- Villa Margarita has been one of my most enjoyable stays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong stay on St. Croix, five nights of which were spent at VM. We had both gone through a very busy 6 month period leading up to the trip and were looking for a place to just relax on the beach and do a whole lot of nothing. VM was the perfect place to do just that. I must admit I was a little hesitant to stay in a smaller hotel/villa because we wanted privacy, but as someone commented earlier, Adele and John strike a great balance of making you feel welcome while allowing you privacy. The villa and the room are well-equipped and the hosts are knowledgeable and friendly and happy to share their extensive knowledge of the island. The location is excellent for exploring the island, but you will probably want to rent a car. Adele recommended JudiofCroix.com and they were excellent, they get you in your car and on your way within a few minutes and return couldn't be easier, no standing in line. There are several good restaurants, beaches and other attractions within a reasonable drive. We stayed in the West Suite and the room was very quiet and comfortable. I wish I could package up the sound of the breeze and waves; they made for a wonderfully peaceful night’s sleep. We never considered turning on the A/C. I won’t go on restating what the other reviewers have already written; VM is a great place to stay and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Villa Margarita is the best! I've traveled all over the world and have stayed in 5 star to no star hotels- this is among my top 5. I had the best time! Adele and John are fabulous- they have thought of everything (even a little night light in the bathroom so you aren't stumbling around in unfamiliar places!). I stayed 5 nights and did NOT want to leave. Adele and John give you tips on local events, bands, restaurants, outings -- everything, including certainly some things I would have missed had they not told me (the rainforest road, for one). They host happy hours and make you feel welcome -- and they do this while at the same time allowing you privacy -- a hard combination to pull off well, but they do so. The villa was great- it doesn't get better than sleeping with screens open with the breeze blowing while you fall asleep to the sounds of waves. Their little beach was paradise- I had it completely to myself. I had a super relaxing and fun filled vacation all at the same time and left knowing that I will be back! Great place, great people, great island. Just Go!

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingtov
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Villa Margarita is the best! My husband and I spent ten days at V.M. And thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The studio was perfect for the two of us, immaculate and convenient to the pool, hot tub and beach. Adele and John: kudos for running a great place. We have been to St. Croix for many years, stayed in many places, but will never stay anywhere other than Villa Margarita. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Nothing is other than perfect at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and Ijust returned from a stay(too short) at the Villa Margarita. It is impossible to give this hotel and John and Adele enough praise. Great location with two of the nicest hosts you could find. They take the time with you to offer you their expertise regarding the island. They also host agraet happy hour where you get to meet and talk with the other guests. We would recommend the Villa Magarita to anyone. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.