We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Margarita is Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Margarita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Margarita
Save Saved
You added Villa Margarita to your Saves list
22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Christiansted B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Villa Margarita is Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our recent week-long stay at Villa Margarita was one of the very best vacation experiences my husband and I have ever had. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed with open arms. Owners Adele and John did everything possible to make us feel at home—from providing us with restaurant and activity recommendations, to lively conversations during Happy Hour at their handcrafted tiki bar, to complete privacy when desired. Our suite in the beautifully appointed and impeccably clean villa boasted a stunning beachfront view from all rooms—a full kitchen and bath, a very comfortable bedroom, and a large living-dining area complete with satellite TV. For our comfort, we could choose between air conditioning or cool and constant sea breezes. Each night we were awed by the view from our balcony of a magnificent rising full moon, as well as views of the lights on some of the surrounding Virgin Islands (Spanish, US, and British), and the days we spent touring the island and snorkeling the reefs right in front of our room.

It was because of the relaxing and accommodating ambience Adele and John provided that St. Croix, and Villa Margarita in particular, has a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: All rooms have outstanding views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Margarita, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It's so nice to hear you had a great vacation experience.
Looking forward to your return, it was a pleasure meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Who am I to spoil Villa Margarita's perfect rating? In fact, this well-maintained three-unit villa near the mouth of the Salt River, on St. Croix's beautiful North Shore, provides good value for Caribbean travelers. Pros: It is right on the (rocky) beach, with a constant breeze and a fabulous view stretching to St. Thomas; it is centrally located to funky Christiansted, the swanky Carambola, the Wall at Cane Bay, and the La Reine Chicken Shack (our favorite fast food hot spot); the Villa comes with a pretty and very private pool; each suite is outfitted with everything you forgot or decided to leave home (sunblock, shampoo, conditioner, beach towels, beach chairs, beach reading, DVD's, Dominican coffee, Crucian rum, and enough electrical appliances to overload the circuits of most hotels); Adele provides reliable information about what to see and do; each room comes with a kitchenette, satellite TV, and a DVD player. Cons: counterspace in our kitchenette was very limited, and a toasteroven passes for a major appliance; island foodstuffs are very expensive, at least in the supermarkets, so don't count on cooking many dinners; the Villa Margarita beach is rocky; you'll need rubber-soled shoes to walk to the adjoining beach or an inexpensive rental car to drive to, say, Davis Beach at the Carambola. But there are small demerits. St. Criox is a lovely island. Villa Margarita is an excellent accommodation on the island.

Room Tip: The one- and two-bedroom suites are on the upper floor and have better views. The studio is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Villa Margarita, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review.
Your right, the counter space in the West suite is a little small. Next time you visit stay in the East suite or studio, they have bigger kitchenettes in them.
The beach in front changes with the storms, right before you came a storm had pushed alot of broken up coral & rocks onto the beach. The last couple of days we have had big waves so it has taken alot of the broken coral & rocks off the beach.
Hope you will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

You know how some places smell like they're trying to cover up a mildew smell with lysol? I noticed as soon as we walked in that this place doesn't have a smell - other than the fresh outdoors. We really feel lucky to have found this place and doubt there's anything better than Villa Margarita for couples. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite and, with a good arm, the balcony is a stone's throw from the ocean. We left the A/C off and had the 2 sliding doors open to look at and listen to the waves 24 hours a day. The views from every room were spectacular. Even the rain was an experience from our balcony setting. - and John and Adele - what great, personable hosts - thought of every detail to make our stay pleasant. We saw all 3 suites and they were equally adorable with decorations/furnishings to fit the island style. You can't go wrong with Villa Margarita and you'll sleep like you've never slept before.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Villa Margarita is a great place to stay. We stayed for a week in June and scuba dived with Anchor Dive which we also highly recommend. Very good diving.

Adele & John were wonderful hosts. The inn has a 2 brm, 1 brm, and a studio, all with a super ocean view and balcony. The kitchen has everything you need, just like home. We had the 1 brm, however, the studio is also a good option for 2 adults. Nice pool and John was building a outdoor bar while we were there. Adele is a great host and gave us many tips and recommendations. Happy hour was also enjoyable. There is a lot to do on the island, beautiful mountains and countryside. We are looking forward to our return trip. You will need a car to enjoy the island.

Larry & Jeanie Tampa, Florida

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the studio suite at Villa Margarita for eight days and nights in mid-June. We felt at home there in a way you rarely feel when traveling, falling asleep every night to the sounds of waves crashing, making breakfast in the suite’s kitchen, and having meals on our terrace, with a stunning view of the sea. While there we never lacked for comfort, and we relaxed with the seclusion and unhurried pace that characterizes life on island. John and Adele gave us many great recommendations for things to do and places to eat, and were incredibly fun to hang out with during happy hour! If you are looking for a romantic place that is very down to earth, Villa Margarita is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

As a couple who loves traveling to tropical islands we picked Villa Margarita over boutique hotels we typically lean towards because of the rave reviews and we are so glad we made that decision! Villa Margarita lived up to every expectation we had after reading all of the excellent reviews! Adele and John are wonderful hosts and the bottle of Cruzan cocount rum in our room upon arrival in addition to our "arrival cocktails" prepared by Adele were welcoming, refreshing and a perfect way to start our vacation! We stayed in the one-bedroom suite and immediately loved it! There are lovely views of the ocean in every room (even the bathroom!) within the suite. The suite was very clean and comfortable. Between the bed being soft and plush and the sound of the ocean waves, we slept like babies each night. (I must say though that the next time we stay on island, we'll be taking up in the studio. It's on the main floor and offers direct access to the pool, shares the patio in the back of the house and has a larger patio table to eat on. (Not a huge deal, but we loved the cozy feel of the studio after peeking in it since it was vacant during our stay.)
The weather was picture perfect. We certainly were very lucky as the day we arrived was the first day it didn't rain in 3 weeks! We had perfect weather every day of our vacation.
Our favorite places to eat were Rowdy Joe's, Eat @ Cane Bay (we ate at both of these places 3 times each), Duggans Reef and Bluewater Terrace. Amazing food and drinks at each location! Turtles Deli in Fredericksted was yummy as well! The Tropical sandwich was HUGE...my husband and I shared it!
A few highlights of our trip were diving with Anchor Dive Center (located 3 minutes away from the Villa), Carambola Spa (located about 15 minutes west of the Villa), snorkeling, hiking Point Udall to get down to Jack and Isacc's Bay for the most pristine beaches and breathtaking views anywhere on island! But we definitely can't leave out paddleboarding! That was my most favorite water activity! We went out with Bill at Paddlesurf St. Croix who immediately made us feel at ease as he patiently gave us a lesson on paddleboarding before my husband and I jumped on and took off! So much fun, I can't stress it enough! I wish that we hadn't waited until the last full day of our trip to do that because we would have gone out a couple more times. Definitely a must do next time we're on island.
I B Designs downtown Christiansted is a must for jewelry lovers! Beautiful pieces and a friendly staff that explain the meaning of each piece to you!
We loved our stay here on St. Croix. So much to see and do for an active couple like us! However, beaching it or hanging by the pool with fruity rum drinks suited us too. There is something for everyone here! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Studio is on main floor w/ direct access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Just got back from 5 days at Villa Margarita. Despite the fact that the weather didn't completely cooperate, we had a great time staying with John and Adele. Because we enjoyed our previous stay so much, we brought 2 couples back to St. Croix with us for our 2011 stay. The rooms were neat and tidy, the kitchenette was plenty for our needs and location was just beautiful. The new decor for the rooms was very nice (nicely done Adele). The happy hours that were hosted by John and Adele were...very happy. Overall, the accommodations were great, especially for the price. John and Adele will give you the privacy or party atmosphere you want. If you are looking for daily maid service, breakfast to be provided each morning,and a restaurant on the premise...go to Carombola for $400 a night. If you want nice accommodations, friendly owners and a good price...Go To Villa Margarita! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margarita

Address: 22 Salt River, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate Oceanfront retreat that caters to couples and adults, with a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Give yourself a few days at beautiful Villa Margarita and your body and soul will be soothed, restored and rejuvenated. Our villa is located next to Salt River Bay National Park where, in 1493, the fleet of Christopher Columbus anchored to get fresh water from shore. Salt River Marina and restaurant are within walking distance and offers casual dining, as well daily kayak tours and scuba diving along the unique Salt River Wall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Margarita Hotel Christiansted
Villa Margarita St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.