We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kingfish and cheap eats in St. Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singh's Fast Food Restaurant

Singh's Fast Food Restaurant
23-B King Street, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 75 Restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Kingfish and cheap eats in St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

After trying for a good while to find Ace's Roti Shop in Christiansted only to find out it was closed (midday during the week) we were heading back to our hotel when we saw a chalkboard sign advertising for Singh's Roti shop. What a FIND! The food was the best we had in St. Croix and the prices were very reasonable. The kingfish was perfectly fried and the roti was great. The conch was the softest I've ever had and I lived in the Caribbean for years. We liked the lunch so much at Singh's we hurried to go back before they closed for dinner. We sat outside and fed the local, free-roaming, chickens our food remnants and had interesting convos w/locals and staff who were eating lunch there as well. Save your money and the hunt for good local food. Singh's is on the main street and will give you the local flavor that's lacking in most other (tourist) places.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Roti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was recommended as a great roti place even though its labeled as a fast food place. First, you go there for the food, not ambiance. The chicken roti was excellent, my friend and husband both had the conch roti, which was much different in style so it didn't get the wow factor. The chicken was the way to go and the portions are large. They also offered a variety of sides, the plantains were great too. A great little place to stop on the way into or out of Christiansted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FOOD TASTY - RESTAURANT NOT APPETIZING”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Food was tasty and above average...Food display case was not at all appetizing...Seating area was limited and not very clean

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great deal, great food, friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We tried almost every dish choice and enjoyed everything immensely. The staff are so friendly, it's a pleasure to order your food. In the city of Christiansted, it's the best place to eat. It's pretty much a take-out place with a few tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Roti Newbie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Okay, the downside was the chicken in my roti was not "cleaned" the way I am used to and was really gristley/tendony. I don't like that. That said I liked Singh's. The woman could tell we were newbies :) and explained Roti to us. My husband got shrimp roti and loved it. I would have been loving the chicken roti if not for the above. It was cheap and delicious. We got take out and took it on the plane with us. The staff was really friendly and helpful and the place had a good vibe, they were genuine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Singh's Fast Food Restaurant also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Singh's Fast Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singh's Fast Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.