We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day at Buck Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Sea Adventures

Caribbean Sea Adventures
59 Kings Wharf, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340 773 2628
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for all of your Watersports needs! We offer daily Buck Island Snorkeling & SCUBA Diving, Private Charters, Sunset Sails, SNUBA Diving, Parasailing and Kayaking! Buck Island Reef National Monument is a must for every visitor whether you snorkel the underwater trail or just enjoy the beach! Proclaimed as a National Monument in 1961 by John F. Kennedy, Buck Island is considered to be "one of the finest marine gardens in the Caribbean Sea." Buck Island's main beauty lies in the surrounding coral reef ecosystem and its unique underwater trail. Here you will snorkel amongst endangered elkhorn and staghorn coral formations teeming with colorful reef fish. After snorkeling, we head to Turtle beach on the west side of Buck Island for some rest and relaxation. Turtle beach was rated one of the world's most beautiful beaches by National Geographic! You can sign up for a full day or half day charter on either a power boat or sail, any day of the week!
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day at Buck Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Caribbean Sea Adventures took my wife and I to Buck Island to snorkel at the reefs and it was better than advertised. Emily and Marcus were both super friendly and helpful in every regard. My wife struggled a bit while learning to snorkel but with the help of Emily and the captain of the boat (could not hear his name b/c we sat next to engine) who were very supportive and encouraging, she overcame her discomfort and pretty soon we were enjoying all the colorful fish and coral Buck Island had to offer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    21
    4
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
“Caribbean Sea Adventures Sunset Cruise and Snorkeling to Buck Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great experience with Miles and Marcus on our Sunset Cruise and our Snorkeling trip to Buck Island. We were first time snorkelers and I can't say enough about the time taken with us to ensure we had a great experience. They really care about your experience! Such fun guys, too. Be sure and book your excursions with Caribbean Se Adventures for a great time you won't forget! Loved it!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day with Caribbean Sea Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

When we entered the store and were warmly greeted by Jackie, we knew we made a great choice of tour operators. She gives the place a great vibe. She took care of all the details for our tour the next day and we were off quickly with tropical juices to mix with the rum awaiting us in the hotel! It was nice to know the trip was booked and we could relax and enjoy the evening. Thank you, Jackie!

Captain Megan and Marcus were a great crew. They both spent time chatting with each of us, making sure we enjoyed the trip to Buck Island and filling us in with interesting details of St. Croix and the area. Marcus kept the sea turtle watch and pointed out several along the way.

Marcus was our guide as we snorkeled the underwater trail. The safety procedures and Marcus' attentive eye on everyone in the group made for a safe and exciting hour or so of exploring. The reef has suffered, as many in the Caribbean have, but there are signs of life and regeneration. Plenty of beautiful fish to see.

After everyone was back on board, Captain Megan navigated the boat just offshore of the amazing white sand beach. Marcus served us a delicious and satisfying lunch. (After all that snorkeling, food never tasted so good!!)

We then had a few hours to enjoy the island and beach. We hiked up the trail to the overlook. So many opportunities for beautiful photos along the way, but nothing like the photos at the overlook. As the sign says, "bring your camera" !!

We hiked down toward the beach through swarms of white butterflies that appeared as leaves on the bushes, before flying off in groups all around us. It felt like a scene from a Disney movie!

We played in the warm water and soft white sand for the rest of our time on Buck Island. Being able to do three activities on Buck Island (snorkel, hike and swim) made for a very fulfilling visit.

We sailed under wind power back to Christiansted, sipping Cruzan rum punch and enjoying the leisurely pace as the sun set.

This was the top day of our vacation this year! We were thrilled with the experience and recommend Caribbean Sea Adventures without hesitation.

Thank you Miles, Megan, Jackie and Marcus!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“fun day on the water..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff on the boat was excellent !!! The trip to Buck Island is well worth it...the reef is mostly dead but still a fun place to snorkel. Very sad to see all of the corals brown and grey with little wildlife to see. Still worth the trip while in St Croix

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Snorkeling excursion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went with Miles and Marcus out to Buck Island on the full day tour and can't express how impressed we were with the both of them. Not only were they very personable but they had many stories to share. We loved hearing about the history of the island and what is happening now with St. Croix and the sea life. Miles also provided a great lunch that he put together himself. Buck Island was the most pristine island we've ever been to and can't wait to go back. Thanks Miles and Marcus for treating us like family!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Sea Adventures also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Caribbean Sea Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Sea Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.