We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well- balanced course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Golf Course

Buccaneer Golf Course
P.O. Box 25200 | Gallows Bay, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
800-255-3881, 340-712-2100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Attraction Details
Berea, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well- balanced course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If you are traveling to St Croix, The Buccaneer Golf Course is definitely worth a visit. The course is a bit short and the rough is moderate, which makes putting up a decent score possible. However, there are dramatic elevation changes and strong winds coming off the ocean that make this course quite challenging too. I changed my mind about 6 times while selecting a club for my hole three tee shot. The greens were nicely manicured. I had some trouble judging the speed all day, but I think that was a personal problem. My wife rode along with me in the cart but did not play. She loved the views and all of the huge iguanas that walk around the course. The staff at the pro shop were very friendly and personable. They gave us advice about other things to do on the island. If I return to St. Croix in the future I will definitely return to play another round.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, CO
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Beautiful views, good price. Friendly and helpful staff. Would play here again. We rented clubs from them to play.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well maintained gold course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Although not as "reputable" as the Robert Trent Jones course on the island, this golf course was great and well maintained. There are some holes that are quite the challenge, and the views of the sea are breath-taking.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“B-E-A-utiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Some of the prettiest view on the entire island. My husband has a very affordable year membership and I like to walk a few holes with him now and again. They have really cold water set up throughout the course (thank goodness). Lots of wildlife to see and the views are breathtaking so be sure to remember your camera!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breath-taking view from the 3rd tee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Well maintained 18 hole golf course that is sunny and warm year-round. After playing try out the Mermaid Bar and Grill right on the beach.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccaneer Golf Course also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Buccaneer Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.