We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's Island Market

Ziggy's Island Market
5088 Estate Solitude, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
(340) 773-8382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 70 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An oasis...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Okay, it doesn't get really dry out until you're farther out east, but Ziggy's is a culmination of neighborhoods with everything you need to eliminate a trip all the way to town. A moderate selection of groceries, gas, and hot food from morning until...

Also they love being involved in the community, hosting events that benefit various charities and causes around the island.

From breakfast time and pate's (pat-tays), Johnny cakes, sandwiches, baked mac-n-cheese!... all with a strong local flavor... standard fare can be had as well. If you go away hungry, you didn't order anything!

I'll be back! 8^)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We didn't actually eat here but spent some time in the afternoon during happy hour waiting for a business acquaintance while we were on vacation. The beers were cold and cheap. With some of the prices I'd seen on the island I was expecting more, but four beers for $11 was a steal. The view on the back deck was amazing. Ziggy's is a glorified roadside gas station. If you want lap of luxury and linen tablecloths this ain't it. If you want an island feel, great beer prices where no one is a stranger and you are made to feel welcome by everyone, this is your place. It will be a regular stop on my future travels to St.Croix.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the first step into the convenience store you feel right at home and as if you have lived here all your life. Mike helped us find everything we needed. You must stay and have a beverage and have the cubano with the homemade mac and cheese. Everyone is very nice and makes you feel welcome, even people you have never met. So stop in and take advantage of some great island hospitality and great food, you won't regret it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect one stop spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loved this place!!! The atmosphere was super cool and they made local dishes for lunch that are just amazing! Now that's just the basics, the libation station was the perfect stop in the middle of our day. Probably the cheapest drinks I've seen in forever and the crowd was super friendly, they made it hard to leave the island. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently stayed in a villa on the quieter east end of St. Croix and kept seeing lots of cars parked at this market/deli/gas station/outdoor bar. We decided to stop and check it out. What we found was one of the friendliest places we'd ever been...even the other customers in the market spoke to us! The gas prices were the lowest we found on the island and the food was absolutely delicious! We had the roti, the cubano sandwich and the pulled pork sandwich. All mouthwatering and prepared with care! Great for our beach picnics!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's Island Market also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Ziggy's Island Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziggy's Island Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.