We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought someone was playing a trick on me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's Island Market

Ziggy's Island Market
5088 Estate Solitude, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-773-8382
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $10
Restaurant details
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thought someone was playing a trick on me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I asked some friends for a good place to pick up sandwiches for a picnic on the way to an east end beach. They suggeted Ziggy's. We passed it by, thinking it was a gas station. When we went inside, it resembled a gas station mart and then asked about sandwiches. They were made to order and wrapped for travelling. We tried the cubano and pulled pork that day. Both were wonderful. We've been back several times since. This is a hidden treasure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    49
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not what one might expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

An unusual place in an unusual settiing that serves good food in a friendly atmosphere. I went once..then again...and now I am regular.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is the best place on the East End of St Croix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are out East while visiting St Croix, make sure you stop in and say Hi to the team at Ziggy's. It's not just a gas station. Or, and island bar. It's kind of a landmark. Get a Cubano and have a rum drink with Joe at the Libation Station. Its a great way to spend happy hour after a day on a boat, a beach, or Buck Island. Oh, and good luck on that pool table. Local boys are pretty passionate about it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch and laid-back atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Like many others, my wife and I had seen the Househunters episode of the couple moving to St. Croix and buying this place, so after reading the reviews we had to come here...and we're glad we did! We stopped here for lunch around 1:30 on Monday, 2/4/13. We were the only ones there. The cook took our order (the special named after someone...Angie's?...that I had read about) and then the bartender arrived and was extremely friendly, talking to us quite a bit about himself, the island, and Ziggy's. You go inside the station to grab and pay for your beers. The special consisted of salt fish, spinich/okra, and sweet potato/coconut dumplings (very good and very filling). The meal was delicious! While there, many locals stopped in for gas, drinks, etc. and one local stopped in with freshly caught seafood in the back of his pickup. The call must've gone out because soon there were a lot of people stopping to buy from him! Definitely go for good local food, cold beers, great conversation, and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Hang with Friends and Meet new ones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very Comfortable outdoor atmosphere where locals and tourists will feel comfortable.
Ziggy makes this a great stop. Don't drive by without stopping!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's Island Market also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Ziggy's Island Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziggy's Island Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.