We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handmade gelatos and sorbets with environmentally friendly packaging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets

Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets
5032 Anchor Way, Suite 10 | Arawak Building-Gallows Bay, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
+1 340-719-6999
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: Organic, European, Ice Cream, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Cash Only, Parking Available
Description: We are located in Gallows Bay (St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands), around the corner from Undercover Books. We sell Vegan Fruit Sorbets made with Agave Nectar and lime juice. We also made Artisan Gelatos, Push ups, Gelato Sandwiches, Fruit Popscicles, Butter Cookies, Coconut Macaroons, Butter Toffee, and, Smoothies.All our containers are Bio Degradable and Compostable. We have been in business since June of 2010.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Handmade gelatos and sorbets with environmentally friendly packaging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stopped here for the first time the week of Labor Day. I had read all about this place on TripAdvisor previously and I saw an ad in a magazine promoting their push-pops. I thought that was such a cool idea and cravings ensued. I ended up getting a large mocha and stracciatella gelato instead of the push pops just because of the price vs. size difference. It was so delicious. I love that everything is handmade and all of their packaging is biodegradable. The spoon I ate it with was made out of corn, but it looked and felt like plastic! I thought that was super cool. I will definitely be coming back every time I visit the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it for our shop. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Gelato. We strive to make a healthy and tasty Gelato, and are glad we are suceeding on this.

Thanks again for your review.
Regards,
Jacky and Carole
Jaccar Sorbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great. Made with fruit right on the island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The sorbets and gelatos are very good. Not the best I've ever had, but the flavor can not be beat. They have a great balance of flavor, especially with the island flavors. Do yourself a favor, get the flavors you can't get anywhere else (there are quite a few of them).

They have fruit right from the island, from the tropical forest to the local producers and wild fruit trees there. The difference in flavor is obvious.

We went there with my little one on our last day there and bought quite a bit, but they are a great option to buy ahead of time (they close at 5:30-6 I think) for a great dessert for the evening after a dinner somewhere else, but you have to think ahead of time. And they're cheaper than getting an expensive and not so great dessert somewhere else.

The service is great, mostly because the owners are friendly and engaging and will explain and describe everything on their extensive list of sorbets and gelatos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your raving review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are glad you liked all the flavors you tried.

Thanks again for the review.
Jacky & Carole
Jaccar Organic Sorbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The owner was very nice and told us all about the gelato. Lots of great (tropical/local) flavors. He also has homemade sorbet too, and some cookies/candies

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaccar, Owner at Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your Gelato at our shop, we strive to use quality items and hope our customers enjoy what we do.

THanks again.
Regards,
Jacky and Carole
Jaccar Organic Sorbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wonderful gelato and sorbets packed with flavor!! We drove down from the Buccaneer for a taste and really enjoyed the treat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many great flavors of sorbet.-loved the mango. Place is a little hard to find in Gallows Bay area. Just a little area to sit, and nothing to look at, but the taste is worth finding the shop.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.