We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gelato! Gelato!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets

Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets
5032 Anchor Way | Arawak Building-Gallows Bay, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
340-719-6999
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: European, Vegan, Ice Cream, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: We are located in Gallows Bay (U.S. Virgin Islands), around the corner from Undercover Books. We sell Fruit Sorbets made with Agave Nectar and lime juice. We also made Artisan Gelato's, Push ups, Gelato Sandwiches, Fruit Popscicles, Butter Cookies, Coconut Macaroons, and Butter Toffee.All our containers are Bio Degradable and Compostable. We have been in business since June of 2010.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gelato! Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

best fresh fruit gelato and sorbet! the couple has travelled many places - from california to florida and now settled in St.Croix. They made the sorbet and gelato from the fruits they have in their backyard. the prices are low and taste awesome. Don't miss this experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    61
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic little place with Friendly Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped in today for some sorbet and it was well worth the visit. This place is the real deal. All homemade sorbet with fresh ingredients and naturally made. We tried the coconut & lime and mango spice sorbets and they were wonderful. The owner was also a real treat. Very nice and informative and made us feel right at home. Definitely check out this gem of a place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herlev, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great selection of exotic fruit sorbet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visited Jaccar today due to having seen all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. We were out walking on our own and stumbled upon a sign to Jaccar by incident in Gallows Bay. We were not disappointed with the sorbet, although I would have preferred it to be a little less frozen (sorbet should be a tad moist). The wide selection of local fruits is astonishing and the owner is very willing to talk, explain and show from samples of the fruits he received the same morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It was hot and this was perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had seen this little place a few times as we trudged to do various errands. This time we stopped in...oh my what a lovely find! The simple presentation of the wonderful gelato...clove and pepper was unique and spicy. There were truly from scratch homemade cookies, sorbets and gelato. Cannot wait to try some more of the uniqueness. This is very simple place. Small, quaint...and overlooking a parking lot...but it is charming in an island way. You just would not expect it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Excellent all natural sorbet/gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

While on St. Croix 2 years ago, we stumbled on Jaccar. The sorbet was very good and they had a few flavors. We just returned from another trip there and they have "expanded". Same store located in Gallows Bay, but many more flavors, also Gelato and smoothies. All the ingredients are local from what the owners told us. In between customers, they can be found zesting lemons, limes or whatever else they are about to make. The biggest problem is there are so many good flavors to choose from, sorbet and/or gelato. We ended up going back 3 times in a week, including departure day. One guy even filled his "frequent customer card", so he got a free 4 oz sorbet for the road. If you're visiting St. Croix, this is a must visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaccar Organic & Natural Sorbets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.